facebook_pixel

Raw BLT Salad and a puppy review

Hey everyone! Happy almost-Friday! Sorry for keeping ya in the dust last night and this morning… I haven’t sat still for more than 10 minutes since I last said hello 😀

For yesterday’s lonchi, I used some of the raw eggplant bacon rounds (recipe from Everyday Raw, written by that guy whose school I’m going to in a little over a month) and made a Raw BLT salad:

001

A thing of organic romaine, grape tomatoes, 1/2 diced avocado, apple cider vinegar, sea salt, pepper and raw eggplant bacon. It was glooooorious.

Teaching spin and Zumba was muy bueno, and then some friends and I went to our usual Wednesday night spot: INDIAN!!!

You’ll never guess what I ordered…

002

Yep, spicy baigan bhartha. I always think about getting something different, but go back to the old favorite. It’s just so amazing…

MY OTHER RECIPES


No roti for me this time (I was bread-ed out from the breakfast cookie), but came home and had a 2 egg white puff with red pepper flakes.

003

This morning, the pilot didn’t have to go into work until 11am!!!! You don’t want to know what time he’s finished at work, but at least we got to chill this morning 😉

I decided to make him some b-fast since he usually gets a bagel with cream cheese on his way out the door.

005

Homemade buttermilk waffles with fresh-picked blueberries…

006

Yes, he’s spoiled 😉

I had a version of Sarma’s Key Lime Shake for bfast:

008

2 juiced apples and 1 key lime, blended with a banana, some Stevia and vanilla.

I also had a delicious Larabar:

009

Since I didn’t have enough juice in my life, I met Jeni at the Main Squeeze for some more 😉

010

We also shared this cookie:

011

Not food combining ROCKS 😀 The owner (aka the Juice Guy) also gave me an extra smoothie that I brought home to Megan. Whatta guy 😀

And now, I bring you a PUPPY REVIEW!

013

HAPPY HIPS!

The puppies GO CRAZY for these things.. and they sit so nicely waiting for their treat

012

When I first discovered these at a Farmers Market in Orlando, I was very impressed with the ingredients. If you’ve ever looked at the ingredients on dog food/treat labels I’m sure you’re also shocked at all of the additional and unnecessary nastiness they put in there. Chemicals, preservatives, fillers, blech. A BIG thing for me is that I will not give the puppers is rendered animal fat. I don’t want to traumatize anyone, but if you do a little research, you probably won’t give your animals rendered animal fat either.

The babies love their Happy Hips! Here are the ingredients: Chicken Breast, Vitamin E Supplement, Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Chondroitin Sulfate (the last two are dietary joint supplements)

Bella likes the glucosamine because she’s had some hip problems (which have drastically subsided since I added a supplement to her diet and these treats) and Viesa likes them because they’re chewy chicken strips 😀

I usually pick them up at Whole Foods but was stoked to find them at Target here in V-town. Check it out, yo!

So this afternoon, I was a cleaning machine (downstairs today, upstairs tomorrow) and made a double batch of Super Charge Me cookies.

014

To my utter surprise (maybe because I’ve already had some cookie today?) I didn’t eat one

015 They look scrumptious, though!

I’m going to take a batch to Jeni’s tonight because she’s having some of the wives over for dinner 😀 I’ll definitely be back with pictures!

EXCITING NEWS!!! If you follow me on Twitter, then you already know that we bought tickets for a Tucson trip next weekend! We’ll be there Aug 6-10! Any bloggies in the area, shoot me an email so we can plan a sweet meet- up 😀

Well I’m off to do a little yoga (it’s my recovery day today), make an appetizer and some veggies to take to Jeni’s and should have a glass of vino in hand by 6:30 😉

See you soon!

xoxo,

G

Post Navigation:

30 Comments

  1. mponz on July 30, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    What is the recipe you used for your Super Charge Me Cookies? They look delicious!

  2. Laura W on July 30, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I definitely could have used a key lime shake this morning! A bit too much wine was consumed last night. Oops :/

    Glad the juice guy made up for the bad 20 minute juice experience that you had before! Have fun at the dinner tonight!

  3. Paige@ Running Around Normal on July 30, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    I buy my lil Niko the same treats but in the orange bag. I'll be sure to get this kind for my older dog, Buck. He gets a
    glucosamine tablet, too, poor guy.

  4. Laura on July 30, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    My Rockstar loves those treats! I love that they are essentially plain dried chicken strips. Have you tried the sweet potato wrapped ones? He likes those too. 🙂

  5. Julia on July 30, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    those waffles…. look so good….
    I absolutely love the photo of your puppies; it is SO adorable 🙂

  6. Mandy on July 30, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    i love the super charge me cookies!! I can't keep my hands off of them when I make them 🙂

    I have never seen those treats before! I'll be on the look out tomorrow at whole foods… or even target tonight! 🙂

    enjoy yoga!

  7. Erica on July 30, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Hey! I missed your posts and am so glad you're back 😉 Glad you enjoyed the indian food last night!! Fantastic looking waffles for the pilot- I bet he felt extra special on his way out the door this morning 🙂 I haven't ever seen those puppy treats -I will have to get some for the Frankster! Hope you have a nice evening! Real Housewives of Atlanta tonight- do you watch??

  8. Ashley Lauren on July 30, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I've been buying the Happy Hips for a while now! It's good to know what I'm actually giving my sweet pup is food 🙂

  9. vegetarianontherun on July 30, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    So so so so jealous of…TUCSON! I miss the AZ desperately! I went back about a month ago–and it's never enough time there!

  10. allijag on July 30, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    OMG gina – they are just so darn cute 🙂

  11. carolinebee on July 30, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    yaya for Tuscon! You must be so excited 😀

  12. VeggieGirl on July 30, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    I need to get those treats for Chooey!!

  13. Danielle C. on July 30, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    I love the pic of the pups waiting for their treat. They look so well behaved (and cute). 🙂

  14. Veganissexy on July 30, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Oh I love mornings with the hubby 🙂 It's fun to spoil them! You would have loved the cocktails I mixed up for my hubs a few days ago–Honeydew-cooladas. YUM 🙂 I love those supercharge me cookies! I ate so much dough last time I made them….dangerous 🙂 Have a good recovery day! I'm total opposite and will be sweating my tush off in bootcamp class tonight. I can't wait for the pain 🙂

  15. shelby on July 30, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Mmm, that BLT salad sounds AMAZING! I still have to get that book…just for the bacon recipe!

    The key lime shake also sounds heavenly!

    But those waffles, oh man! Pilot is so LUCKY!!!

  16. Nerd Girl on July 30, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    i feel like i need to get on the juice wagon. where are the holidays when you need them so i can request these things for gifts?! 🙂 im up in phoenix, so if you make it up there let me know!

  17. dirtyduck on July 30, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    somehow i missed that you were going FOR SURE to that cooking school(!!!!!!), thats so exciting! i agree with you on the animal treat thing. its actually the same in some bird foods also. surprisingly though the potbelly pig feed and the duck feed (she( lilly my pet duck)is who my blog thing is named after) has a pretty good write up of minerals and vitamins, which is contrary to what factory raised animals USUALLY get, not always im sure. but the bird food(macaw) has lots of weird stuff in it.i feel ya about living in some out of the way area, we live in lake hava-nothing and there is nothing like the ALL-bird stores that they have in san diego, where im from. its discouraging.

    i need to find a blog on somebody that MAKES there own dogs food. i think that my dogs allergy problems could be better.

  18. heartswholefoods on July 30, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Hehe the pilot is super spoiled 😉 But deserves it, no? Those waffles look fabulous!

    Thanks for the puppy review. I hate feeding my pup stuff with icky ingredients!

  19. Krista on July 30, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Love how the puppies waited so patiently for their treat while you took a picture!

  20. Michal on July 30, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Aww puppies, they are so cute ? Your salad looks amazing!

  21. Island Girl Eats on July 30, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I am really careful with what I give my little dog Scruffy. I even make his food for him. After all of the dog food recalls that happened a while back, I decided to start making his food myself. I feel so much better knowing that he is getting a homemade meal. He prefers it too!

  22. tonjatoi@hotmail.com on July 30, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Woot Woot – coming to T-Town!!!! How about a bloggy meal at New Dehli Palace? Or a fitness class somewheres… I'm due for a TJ and WF run and that weekend works.

    Are you on facebook?

  23. roseyrebecca on July 30, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Aww your dogs are adorable! Those waffles look great!! I need a waffle iron so bad!

    I hope your yoga was nice and relaxing!

  24. wholebodylove on July 31, 2009 at 12:05 am

    I will have to look for Happy Hips at my local Whole Foods! My puppies would be very appreciative.

  25. heyitstay on July 31, 2009 at 12:43 am

    I just got that same cookie in the mail! Hope it's a good one!

    Glad you had a nice chill morning 🙂 Those are always the best!

  26. Sarah (LovIN My Tummy) on July 31, 2009 at 12:54 am

    Favorite line of the post:

    NOT food combining rocks!!!

  27. Menden @ Skinny Menny on July 31, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Those waffles look delicious…that pilot is one lucky guy!

    I'll keep an eye out for those doggie treats for my Zoe. I honestly don't even want to know what's in the "Beggin' Strips" that she gets right now, lol!

  28. Hilary (Red Head, Yellow Dog) on July 31, 2009 at 9:49 am

    totally agree with you on the scary things in dog food. we feed toby dog california natural which has a stellar ingredient list (very very short!) and the treats we give him are all natural too..they're just like chicken jerky I think. and sometimes he gets a carrot or an egg yolk 🙂

    I figure if I'm doing all this for my health why would I feed my pupper a bunch of gross stuff?! I need him to live a long, healthy and happy life!!

  29. elise on July 31, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    it is posts like this that REALLY make me want a dehydrator. darn nyc apartment 🙁

  30. Drew on August 3, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Ha you need addiction treatment for those crackers!!

Leave a Comment





Pin It on Pinterest