facebook_pixel

Pure Market Express

As you guys know, I was so lucky to try some samples from the Pure Market Express fairy 🙂 Pure Market Express is a home delivery food service, specializing in raw food.

pure market express (2)

The package arrived on my doorstep, and to be honest, I was kind of anxious to see how well raw food would do in the shipping process. Raw food can be difficult to store (as some of it can get super watery and blah within a while) and I had no idea how they’d be able to keep it cold without freezing it. Let’s just say they have it down to a science 😀

EVERYTHING in the container was perfectly insulated and cold.. and looked like heaven.

They sent me the Spanish Rice and Mexi Chips

pure market express

Raw Cheesecake

puremarket express

and Raw Lasagna

pure market express (3)

The first product that I tried was the Spanish Rice and Mexi Chips. I was so stoked to find that all of the nutritional information was displayed on the bottom of each package:

009

This is an AWESOME tool because a lot of raw food is very nut-heavy, so it’s difficult to tell how many calories and fat grams you’re getting out of it. The nutritionals for the Spanish rice were amazing and I was happy to see that they included a lot of delicious veggies in with the nuts—the last thing I want to eat is a pure nut pate.

taco salad

I served mine on top of organic greens and proceeded to devour every single morsel. It was perfectly seasoned, filling, hearty and so delicious.

clean plate

It was that good 😀

This says a lot because I’m a tough critic when it comes to raw food as I’ve been spoiled by working for Matthew Kenney, and Mexican food because my family is Hispanic and makes some insanely delicious dishes.

I loved everything about the Spanish Rice and even thinking about it right now, I’m trying to figure out when I might be able to have it again 😉

The next day, I tried the raw lasagna.

pure market express (3)

To be honest, I usually can’t stand raw lasagna.The zucchini slices are usually too thick, it’s usually too nut-heavy which makes me sick to my stomach.

I decided to be brave and give it a whirl—I was very pleasantly surprised.

IMG00088-20100225-1243

The zucchini noodles were SUPER thin (and more noodle-like!), there were thick slices of tomato and best of all, they were easy on the nut cheese.

Amazing 😀

I haven’t tried the cheesecake yet (but plan to as soon as Lent is over) and will be adding that review to this page as well.

So in an almond-shell, I think that Pure Market Express is an amazing choice for food delivery, especially if you’d like to try some raw food for the first time. The nutritionals are stellar and it tastes delicious. It’s perfect for on-the-go Fitnessistas who work long hours, or for people like me, who think food always tastes better when someone else makes it 😉

23 Comments

  1. Stacey on February 26, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Great review! So you’ve mentioned that the nut heavy stuff is hard on your stomach, and I’ve read somewhere (maybe here?) that people should ease into raw foods for that reason. So, from what you’ve tried from Pure Market Express, do you think a full week would be too much for someone new to raw foods? I have seriously been considering trying it out for a week since I can’t make this stuff myself and I’d like to see how the whole raw food thing works out for me.

    • Fitnessista on February 26, 2010 at 12:19 pm

      hey stacey,
      from what i can tell, PME goes easy on the nuts (which i LOVE!!!!!!). they didn’t feel heavy to me at all and i think a week’s worth would be totally fine, if you add in some fruit and veggies 🙂

  2. cherry on February 26, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    I wouldn’t say that the nutritional are all stellar though… that ice cream has 27 g sat fat in half a cup! ack. }: at least they post the info so we’re informed.

  3. Heather on February 26, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Just wanted to provide friendly advice to Cherry about Pure Market Express’ saturated fat! [:

    The saturated fat content in the ice-cream is high because they used raw coconut meat and raw coconut water. By nature, coconut is high in saturated fat – but it is a good saturated fat!

    How is this so?!

    Our bodies don’t have to work as hard to digest the naturally occurring fats in coconut as say…butter. Coconut doesn’t bind to our fat cells; it is processed in the body like a carbohydrate. In other words, it doesn’t stick around and is immediately used as energy to actually BOOST our metabolisms!

    • Fitnessista on February 26, 2010 at 2:56 pm

      yes, coconut and coconut oil contain lauric acid, which is actually used by the body to BURN fat! 🙂

  4. lauren on February 26, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    hey just wondering how long does it take to ship once you order it?

    • Fitnessista on February 26, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      i’m not sure.. i know they have different shipping options. i’d call or email and ask

  5. michelle on February 26, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    when gena at choosing raw did a review i was really interested. i went and looked at their website and thought it was nicely done, and their prices are not bad!

    • Fitnessista on February 26, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      yes, it’s very affordable.. especially considering the quality and amount of time this food takes to prepare

  6. sarah on February 26, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I just ordered a week’s worth. You have the option of choosing overnight, next day, or two day shipping — pricey, yes. I did two day, and it’s not here yet, but I’m imagining it’ll be here tomorrow.

    I’ve been eating vegan for two months, so I’m hoping hitting the raw right off the bat won’t be TOO insane on the system. Very excited to try the food though, especially after Gina’s stellar review!

    • Fitnessista on February 26, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      whoo hoo! i hope you enjoy it as much as i did 🙂

  7. Ian on February 26, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    I absolutely agree on all accounts: nut heaviness is ridiculous regardless of diet (and tough on my stomach as well) and food is best when someone makes it with love for you!

  8. Catherine on February 26, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I have been totally poring over that website ever since you posted about this originally. I think I might have to go ahead and pull the trigger and order me some comida crudo!

  9. Kristin (Cook, Bake and Nibble) on February 26, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Thanks for this! I’d love if I could get PME here! Let them know we want shipping in Canada, kay? 😉

    xo
    K

  10. Sue on June 29, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Pure Market Express food was removed from Lakewinds because the nutritional label was not correct. A insider told me that most of the food is not organic and the guy who runs the kitchen eats the standard American diet. How does that work anyhow, a meat eater making raw food..lol

    • Fitnessista on June 29, 2010 at 7:48 pm

      that’s interesting- i was wondering how the calorie counts were so low considering the ingredients that they use
      still, it tastes pretty amazing 🙂

  11. Sue on June 30, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    It does taste good as long as you don’t mind the pesticides and the wax on the foods.

    • Fitnessista on July 3, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      thank you for sending it to me- i’ll continue to use agave sparingly, it’s never been my fave sweetener

  12. Rebecca on July 5, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Hi everyone –

    Just thought I’d add a couple of clarifications. Sue – hi again! ;0) Our product was removed from Lakewinds. Though the store told us our sales were not high enough to validate keeping a cooler there, there were also issues with our nutritional labels.

    When we opened we got all of our nutritional data from the USDA. A computer program combined all nutritional data for each ingredient and came up with a total. What we didn’t realize at that point was that some foods that are common to raw food are NOT common to the USDA such as nutritional yeast, agave, lucuma and several others. This led to discrepancies in our label. Once we realized there was an issue, we hired a testing agency here in Minnesota to specifically test each recipe which was a huge committment for us as a new company but one we all felt strongly about.

    We are now seeing those results come in and making the changes on our labels as soon as possible.

    As far as organic, we have never claimed to be a completely organic facility. Especially now in the summer, we source much of our veggies through local farmers who may or may not be certified but we have been able to walk their fields and witness their practices. I personally believe high quality is paramount, then local if possible is so important, then organic.

    Tony, our head chef, it’s true is a meat eater. I have been so blessed to see someone take an interest in raw eating and the mission of Pure Market Express who is not normally bent that way. His tastes are so different from most of ours who have been eating this way awhile – he creates the most amazing dishes. A big part of mission at Pure Market Express is to spread the message of healthy convenient eating to those who are still eating a SAD diet. Tony is a perfect example – he even went raw for the whole month of June! We were so proud of him!

    In my travels, it has actually been more common to see “meat eaters” in raw kitchens than raw chefs. During a tour of the Pure Food and Wine kitchen in NYC and Karyn’s Fresh Market in Chicago, I had the opportunity to talk to the kitchen staff and not a single one was even vegetarian. LOL However, they still made wildly yummy food.

    Sue, if you ever have questions about our ingredients, please don’t hesitate to contact me. We have an open kitchen and I would be happy to give you a tour and show you exactly what we use. Everyone is welcome!

    Warm regards to all,

    Chef Rebecca

    • Fitnessista on July 5, 2010 at 11:28 am

      thank you, rebecca! 🙂

  13. Kelly on August 23, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    So should I believe the nutritional info from the website or the labels on the packages I received!?!
    They are different and I’m concerned about the huge difference in calories specifically.

    • Fitnessista on August 23, 2011 at 7:35 pm

      I’m not sure- send an email, they’re great at responding.

Leave a Comment





Pin It on Pinterest