Pure Fitness: Staying Hydrated

Staying Hydrated

Note: I was paid to write about Crystal Light Pure Fitness. I wasn’t paid to state a particular opinion and as you guys know, I would NEVER pimp out anything on the blog that I wouldn’t use myself for the sake of making extra dollas. I love you guys too much 🙂 So yes, I was paid to review this product, and yes, if the product sucks I would happily say so. In this case, it doesn’t suck, it’s actually very tasty.

As you guys know, I’ve always been an active chica. I started dancing at a young age and by the time I was in college, I was dancing 15-20 hours per week. Even since I stopped dancing a few years ago, I’ve kept up with a vigorous workout schedule and high activity level. It’s important to stay hydrated when you’re working out because once you’re dehydrated: 1) you know it, and 2) by the time you know it, it’s too late.

Here’s why we need to stay hydrated:

-It keeps everything functioning smoothly– our muscles, brain and digestive system

-Water lubricates joints, which is critical when you’re active

-Proper hydration helps us to detoxify and flush out waste

When my dancing schedule became hectic, I wasn’t properly hydrating myself or getting enough electrolytes, so I was often dizzy and exhausted. A big problem for me was that I really, really disliked water.

This is where Crystal Light came in.

I would put a little Crystal Light into each water bottle before dance and happily gulped down the water. Dizziness was gone and my jumps were the highest they’d ever been. I kept drinking the Crystal Light until I realized that it contained aspartame, and the boxes of my beloved Crystal Light went in the trash.

I eventually started to like the taste of water and now have no problem getting in my 8 daily glasses, but I was so excited when Crystal Light came out with a stevia-sweetened Fitness drink, Pure Fitness. I checked out the ingredient list, didn’t get any major heebie-jeebies, and picked up a box of the Grape Flavor to try.

It’s good stuff.

Low in calories (15 cals per serving) and is gluten-free, caffeine-free and allergen-free.

My #1 tip for staying hydrated is CONVENIENCE. If you carry around a bottle of water with you, you’ll drink it. It’s when it becomes inconvenient that it’s more difficult to stay hydrated.

On FitnessMagazine.com, they’re giving away a chance three chances to win $500. All you have to do is simply leave your fitness tip or secret – this week’s question is “What’s your secret to getting off the couch and into your sneakers?”

I wrote this article while participating in a blog campaign by Kraft’s Crystal Light Pure Fitness and received information to facilitate my article. Fitnessmagazine.com compensated me for my participation. Opinions expressed are my own.

13 Comments

  1. Courtney @ Three Months on July 13, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Thanks for reviewing this – I’ve been very interested in trying it but wasn’t sure how well it worked. Might look into this now!

  2. allison @ livingoneday on July 13, 2010 at 10:01 am

    cool beans. i have a few packs at home to try and review. so im curious to see how my experience compares 🙂

  3. brittney on July 13, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I was wondering if this is good. I definitely don’t drink enough water.

    I trust The Fitnessista, and will be trying this out.

  4. shannon on July 13, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    My secret to getting off the couch and putting on my sneakers: two precious and waggled tail pups who great me bedside every morning. When i put shoes on thy jump up and down with the shear joy of the possibility of a walk. I feel guilty if they don’t get exercise. So, if I am having a hard time getting out I think of how I am their only way outside and we are onour way!

  5. Stefanie on July 13, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    My secret to getting off the couch is reflecting back on how awful I felt phyically and mentally when I could not run due to injury, that in fact, was due to fact that I was only doing cardio and not doing any strength training.

    In the 6 months, particularly in the last 3 months, I have learned about High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT), Tabata style training, and compound movements, and how to train smarter, not LONGER. lost 5% body fat, 8 pounds, and never felt better (now considered ATHLETIC LEAN by Bod Pod).

    To think I could go destroy all that hard work cause I don’t feel like work out…well I surely like feeling better!!!! That gets me out of the house for sure!!!

  6. Elisa on July 13, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    The great feeling I know I’ll have when I’ve had a really good, sweaty workout!

  7. Morgan M. on July 13, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    My secret is envisioning how amazing it feels to reach a goal… whether it be a mileage or weight goal

  8. tonjatoi on July 13, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    I received 3 free samples of the Crystal Light Pure Fitness – Kiwi Strawberry, Grape, and Lemon Lime. I loved loved loved them in this order – Lemon Lime, Kiwi Strawberry, then Grape. Bought box of the Lemon Lime on my very next shopping trip. I have never been a fan of any flavor packets you add to water – these are really good. Thanks for your review. I enjoy your product reviews.

  9. Stephanie on July 14, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I actually put some of the stuff in my water bottle when taking Spin Classes. I feel it’s just a quick way to raise my energey levels.

    My secret is to just visualize myself after a workout! I always tell myself that I never regret a workout once its finished and that usually gets me moving pretty quickly.

  10. Mary on July 27, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    I was excited to try this but the price turned me off. They put ‘fitness’ or ‘sport’ in a product name and suddenly it’s marketable for twice as much? No thanks.

  11. rebecca on July 27, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    glad to heard it :)crystal light was one of the harder things to give up on, and i rarely have it now because of the sweeteners…

    and you can review anything you want, because if you like it, i will probably try it hahaha

  12. Ginna on July 27, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    I love the pure fitness. it tastes great! I found out a few years ago that I do much better with an electrolyte sports drink in my water bottle than just plain water. Much better to fuel my workouts before, during, and after. I’ve had the grape and the lemon lime.

    Gina – what do you recommend for sweetening other beverages (tea, coffee)? Stevia? Truvia? And what is your take on agave? I have heard some bad things about it as well as good.

    • Fitnessista on July 27, 2010 at 10:01 pm

      i prefer stevia. not so much agave– even before the whole controversy, i found agave to be way too sweet and sticky for my liking

Leave a Comment





Pin It on Pinterest