Full Peloton Bike Review (Is it worth the money?)

Is the Peloton bike worth the money?

The answer is yes x 293840281.

You guys.

This is by far the best purchase I’ve made… in a very, very long time.

Peloton

I feel like I’ve told this story a lot already, but some may have missed it: they packed up my spin bike in Valdosta to put into storage for a while. (Aka the stuff in storage… well, I have no clue when/if I’m going to see it again.) At the time, I was like, “Maybe it won’t be a big deal” but after being here for a few weeks, especially with the girls home from school for the summer, I realized how much I depended on using my spin bike for at-home cardio. It’s been way too hot to run outside, and sometimes making it to the gym isn’t going to happen since it doesn’t offer childcare.

After using the Peloton app on my phone for over a year (I propped my phone or the iPad on my old bike and streamed classes through the app), I bit the bullet and bought a bike. (<— This post isn’t sponsored in any way. I have zero affiliation with Peloton, even though in my dream world, I teach for them.)

Now that I’ve been able to use it a handful of times, I thought I’d post my review and pros/cons. So many people have asked if it’s worth buying the bike, so here’s my full review:

Peloton Bike Review

Peloton bike setup and installation:

– The set-up and installation were a breeze because I didn’t have to do any of it! When you purchase the bike, it includes set-up and installation. The guys were insanely fast; you can tell they’ve had experience putting these bikes together.

MY OTHER VIDEOS

I decided to put a mat under the bike so it doesn’t damage the floor. For the spin shoes, I took them to a local cycling shop and they installed the clips for me. 

– You turn the bike on, log into internet, and boom. You’re ready to ride! They also have helpful videos online for how to set-up the bike for your preferences and height.

Peloton bundle package:

– I ended up getting the bundle package for free (military), so it came with shoes, headphones, and weights. (I rolled with the 2lb. since I have a 3-lb. pair already.) You absolutely need the shoes for the bike, so I think it’s worth getting the bundle package. 

Peloton

How to clean the Peloton bike:

– This is something I obsessed over for the first day – I wanted to take good care of it! – and after tons of research, I bought these natural gym equipment wipes and these touch screen wipes. They’re both amazing and I highly recommend them. I use the lavender wipes after every ride and clean the touch screen every 2-3 classes. 

Peloton 2

Subscription:

When I had the app on my phone, it was $12 a month. When you purchase a bike, the price jumps ($39/month) but you can still use the app on your phone for the extra treadmill, bootcamp, yoga, and stretch classes. I feel like it’s a little bit of a bummer that the subscription is more expensive if you own a bike (like hey buddy, I already gave you a decent amount of money) but after taking live classes, I feel like it’s worth it. They add so many new classes each day that the variety is unlike anything I’d be able to get at a local studio, especially for $39/month.

Peloton 3

The classes:

The classes are the same ones I fell in love with over a year ago. I have zero negative feedback for Peloton and think the classes are safe, fun, functional, and the instructors are amazing. The only bonus now is that I can see what the instructors’ faces look like, since they’re not squished onto my tiny phone screen. (Aaaand I get better viewing of DJ John Michael’s killer dance moves.) 

Using the Peloton bike vs. another spin bike + the app:

The huge question here is whether I think it’s worth getting a less expensive spin bike and using the app (on your phone or tablet), or if I think it’s worth biting the bullet to buy the actual Peloton bike. Before I owned one, I thought it would be a tough call, but after using the bike for the past couple of weeks, the Peloton wins by a landslide. That’s largely attributed to 3 features: the live classes, instant feedback, and the leaderboard. 

– You can jump into live classes, which really gives you the feel of being in the studio. It’s pretty incredible to ride with a powerhouse instructor and Peloton fans in the NYC studio and all over the world. 

– Instant feedback and stats. This is what really takes the bike to the next level. On the screen, you can see your cadence, resistance, and output. The screen was broken off my last spin bike during the move. I was going by RPE, and found out that I wasn’t working nearly as hard as I thought I was. The real-time stats were an interesting reality check for me, and also encouraged me to really push myself on speed and resistance. Your position on the leaderboard is determined by output (in kilojoules and is a combination of resistance and speed). 

Peloton 4

– The leaderboard. Through the leaderboard, you can compete against those who have already taken the class or those who are taking it right then with you. You can also hide the leaderboard if you’re not feeling like competing that day. They track your PR for each type of ride, so you’re also competing against your personal best each time. I’ve found that the leaderboard makes me work extremely hard. I always want to pass people that are ahead of me and stay on top of my PR. I LOVE the competitive edge of it and found that it was something I needed to take my workouts to the next level. (Hack: when they’re doing weights, I use that as an opportunity to crank up the resistance and speed and pass a bunch of people. Muahaha.)

– The only con I can think of is the fact that the bike takes up a decent amount of space. You definitely need to have room in a guest room or office. It does roll, so you could also hide it in a larger closest if you ever had guests or needed to move it.

Peloton

So I think that covers everything! Please let me know if you have any questions about it!

Do you have a home gym? What do you think has been your most important investment for your health? 

xo

Gina

Post Navigation:

38 Comments

  1. Kristen on September 17, 2018 at 8:33 am

    I have a bike (a cascade from a local gym equipment store) with a computer on it so i can see my resistance and rpm and use the peloton app. My original spin bike didn’t have a computer and i agree It’s a MUCH better workout with the metrics. I love The other classes on the app too! As a mom of 2 little ones working full time I’m team home gym all the way!!

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:34 am

      amen to that! it makes it so much more convenient and attainable if you can just do it at home 🙂

  2. Christina Carrigan on September 17, 2018 at 9:34 am

    lol!! I’ve got to insert my LOVE for my Peloton!! I’ve had it since May. I lift weighs 5x a week and this has been amazing for my cardio. I take every 80’s ride I can and sing along.. even for my 4 am classes. Hands down the best fitness purchase I have ever made. This took the place of my Orange Theory classes and honestly I think I may like it more. Any other cardio equipment would feel like a chore to use… like I “have to” go run or ride, but this feels like a party. Every. Single. Time!!!! PS… can we get your screen name to follow you?

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:32 am

      haha i totally sing along to the 80s rides, too! i need to do them more often.
      totally agree with you about OTF; i feel like the peloton classes are way more exciting
      my screen name is quadhangover

  3. India on September 17, 2018 at 10:45 am

    I have a baby coming in October and I’ve been debating what we should get to set-up a home gym. I just worry we won’t actually use anything. But I’m planning on using one of your fit guides post-birth (when I’m ready), so I’m going to let that guide me. 🙂

    I’ve been curious about the peloton bike. Thanks for reviewing it!

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:31 am

      i’m so excited for you!!!!
      and yes, having a home gym with a kiddo makes a huge difference, unless you can find a gym or studio with amazing childcare.
      xoxo

      • Kath on September 18, 2018 at 7:59 am

        Same regarding October baby! This bike is one of the few home gym options I would consider. BUT – $40 a month just for access?!!? That seems so high to me. Especially because I do have a gym with kick-ass childcare and a great cycle program that I pay a lot for. I just don’t know how much I’ll use it this winter. I still love the concept though… maybe someday…

  4. Tabitha on September 17, 2018 at 11:30 am

    Omg I’m military and I paid full price for the bundle when I bought my bike. Howwwwwwwww annoying!!!! But it is amazinggggggg!! I have one con-the shoes only come in whole sizes. So if your a half size-either too big or at times snug. Other than that I HEART everything to do with the bike!!!!

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:31 am

      that is so weird! did you buy it a while ago? i’m also wondering if they gave it to me for paying in full? i asked if there was any type of deal or discount when i bought it
      totally forget to mention that about the shoes! so true. and yes, the bike the best ever

      • Tabitha on September 18, 2018 at 10:23 pm

        I paid in full too 🙂 I bought online not by phone but I did email and they did credit me back the money-months later. So thanks for your post so I got a little back!

        • Fitnessista on September 20, 2018 at 1:17 pm

          yay, so glad to hear it! they have awesome customer service

  5. Megan @ Skinny Fitalicious on September 17, 2018 at 12:06 pm

    As a spin instructor, all I can say is I need this bike in my life!

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:29 am

      you TOTALLY do

  6. june on September 17, 2018 at 12:12 pm

    Do you have a recommendation for cycling shoes, not don’t have clips? Or do you think clips are a must have for spin class?

    • june on September 17, 2018 at 12:12 pm

      Sorry, i mean don’t have clips

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:28 am

      i feel like clips definitely take it to the next level. you utilize your leg muscles differently and i feel like i work harder when i’m clipped in. even so, i wear sneakers to other spin classes all the time. just make sure that they have harder soles (like the nike free runs are terrible for spin because the soles are so soft and flexible)

    • Tami on October 6, 2018 at 6:24 am

      Check amazon for new balance spin shoes, the clip part is inside the bottom of the shoe so you don’t have to walk all crazy

  7. Lisa on September 17, 2018 at 3:16 pm

    Why would there be a possibility you wouldn’t see your stuff in storage again? Did something happen to it? We finally are getting our stuff out of storage after over a year!

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:27 am

      it will be over a year until i see it again, and who knows what kind of shape it will be in when it gets here. we’ve had so many things end up broken or lost, there’s no telling. we don’t have a date right now or even a date range when it might come out of storage, so who knows

  8. Gilliane on September 17, 2018 at 3:34 pm

    I’ve had my Peloton Bike for nearly 3 years and I love it just as much now as the day I got it. I did my 500th ride live a couple weeks ago with Matt. It was so fun going to the live studio! Matt and Robin are my favorite instructors-but I enjoy all of them. I’ve started doing their other classes on the app–the outdoor runs with Robin are the best–she is so motivating! I get so excited when I meet someone else that has the bike-I could talk about it forever.

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:26 am

      that is SO INCREDIBLE you got to hit that milestone live in the studio! the next time i go to nyc, i can’t wait to take a class!

      • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:27 am

        also, i’m totally trying an outdoor run with robin when the weather cools down just a little

  9. lindz on September 17, 2018 at 5:31 pm

    question…does this also work like a tv if i wanna just spin and watch a show? or is the screen strictly class apps only? thx and awesome review!

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:26 am

      ahhh no it doesn’t. that would be amazing, though!

  10. Stephanie on September 17, 2018 at 5:42 pm

    Can you use other clip in shoes? Or, are the specialized for the Peleton bike?

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:25 am

      they’re look delta cleats. i feel like the SDP are more common – that’s what my spinner bike had

  11. Theresa C on September 17, 2018 at 8:18 pm

    Ok. I’m getting married May 2019 and me and my fiancée cannot think of ANYTHING to put on our wedding registry and a few weeks ago I thought….LOL maybe I’ll just put a Peloton on there and ask for donations?!! My fiancée was not psyched I shrieked when I saw this post and read the first couple lines to him, out loud. I think it will somehow sneak it’s way onto the registry after all. I don’t need anymore plates!!

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 12:23 am

      i would TOTALLY register for it! you will love it

  12. Virjinia @ With Purpose and Kindness on September 18, 2018 at 12:19 pm

    Isn’t it amazing? I know people use their own bikes and the app but I feel like the bike takes it to another level just like you said. Live classes are my favorite and I usually hop on to the live DJ class on Sundays with Cody and DJ John Michael. I plan on riding my 150th in the studio next month!

  13. Laura on September 18, 2018 at 8:07 pm

    Ahh, thank you for this!! I’ve been hearing about these bikes and wondering if I should look more into it. Your review was very thorough–Thank you! Question–how much are they? Do they offer finance plans? Did you cancel your gym membership when you bought it? I only do spin classes at the Y and can’t afford boutique classes like flywheel or soul cycle, but am obsessed with spin. Thoughts? Can I afford this?

    • Fitnessista on September 18, 2018 at 9:00 pm

      it’s seriously AMAZING
      i think everything was around 2300. they do offer a finance plan! when the rep told me about it, it seemed affordable. it would have been like 80/month for everything. i just put it on our credit card to get the miles 🙂
      i get free gym memberships at the studios where i teach in town, and pay for my orangetheory. for barre3, i do 10-class packs and just use them whenever.
      i hope this helps a little!

  14. Ashley on September 18, 2018 at 9:28 pm

    Thanks so much for the review! I have been eyeing the Peloton for a while but the $40 a month cost is my hang up. What if You don’t want to do the $40/month – does the screen just not work then? Can you buy a bike without a screen?

    • Fitnessista on September 20, 2018 at 1:18 pm

      yeah i don’t think the classes will load. the screen is attached to it and if you were to buy a bike without a screen, i’d get a schwinn because they’re less expensive

  15. Elizabeth Bennetts on September 20, 2018 at 4:37 pm

    Are you locked into the $39/mo forever? If you wanted to disengage from the Peleton classes altogether for awhile, could you do that?

    • Fitnessista on September 20, 2018 at 5:12 pm

      i think you can cancel whenever. it just wouldn’t stream classes for you

  16. adrianna on September 25, 2018 at 10:50 pm

    what an awesome review! although i totally expected it. this is exactly what i would buy if i could get one piece of equipment. i love spinning and the vibe of a studio, but monthly memberships…yikes! i’ll stick with the classes in my gym, thanks. oh but to do this awesomeness in the comfort of my own home/apt? hells yeah. good post, Gina!!

  17. Cassie on September 30, 2018 at 10:27 pm

    Um yes yes and YES!! Love this bike and your review is right on!!

  18. Michael on November 7, 2018 at 10:38 pm

    I wasn’t sure about it and whether I would use it over time and it’s expensive ($2500 + $39/month). Before I bought it I had walked by the 23rd st. studio numerous times and I never knew what it was or had much interest in finding out. It was actually a friend who had one — and she was so into it — that got me curious so I went into the store one day and got the “pitch” but I still wasn’t sure. The studio incidentally is relatively small (they are moving next year I think to a massive space over by the new Hudson Yards but the live classes have zero interest for me anyway even when they are free. They have some free classes every day which I guess is nice if you live nearby and can get over during the hours they are offered). Anyway, bottom line is I love it. I don’t use the leaderboard but having the package (bike/screen/metrics) makes all the difference in getting me through a good workout of what otherwise is a fairly dull activity: peddling a stationary bike. I really like the metric oriented classs (HR zone and PWR zones) and the bike itself I think looks good for an excerics bike and takes up very little space, which is a big issue for us apartment dwellers. I can’t stand when Jess King sings by the way. I had to mention that. But they do have a wide variety of classs so you can find what works for you. If you ar on the fence and it is within your budget I highly recommend it and if it doesn’t workout I think the resale value is good.

Leave a Comment





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest