Polar Loop Review + giveaway time!

Hi friends! Hope you’re enjoying the long weekend <3 We’re driving back to Tucson after a fun and crazy weekend of house hunting and Disneyland. I’ll be back with my normal(ish) posting in the morning! 

In the meantime, how ’bout a giveaway??

Loop 1 of 1

(Bella, wishing the loop came in her size, even though 19 hours of the day are spent lounging in between sprinting)

[The remainder of this post is sponsored by Polar through a compensated campaign with Fitfluential. As always, all opinions are my own. I’m always happy to share the word about new fitness products, especially when they include a fun giveaway opportunity. Click through for the details and your chance to enter!]

Quite a while ago, I was contacted about reviewing a Polar Loop. I was really stoked because it was something I’d been wanting to try, and even more exciting because it included a giveaway opportunity. In the meantime, I had already ordered another fitness tracker that was on the way. For the purposes of this post, I’m not able to do a side by side comparison, but hopefully my feedback will help you make the best decision for your lifestyle. There are pros and cons to the various types out there; it’s really about determining the best model for your needs.

I didn’t really become intrigued with fitness trackers until I started teaching at the resort. A TON of guests would walk into class with their respective gadgets, and as a techie curious person (not capable, just curious haha) I was definitely interested in the various types. When I stopped teaching at the resort, I was looking for ways to gauge my activity since I spent a lot more time seated throughout the day. I quickly noticed that it can be extremely challenging to get in the daily recommended 10,000 steps, especially when you don’t live in a walking-friendly city. (This is even when you’re chasing around a very active toddler!) Fitness trackers are a nice reminder to add some bursts of activity throughout the day, and can also provide some insightful data about habits and patterns.

MY OTHER VIDEOS

One thing that excited me the most about the Polar Loop is that it’s compatible with Polar heart rate straps. I’d been a heart rate monitor fans for many years -especially while I was pregnant- and I knew I’d love the ability to sync the tracker during my workouts. My other fitness tracker counted “steps” via arm movements, so even when I was working out (especially with yoga, spinning and strength training) I knew my previous tracker was inaccurate. I’d be waving my arm around on the spin bike to get in my steps for the day πŸ˜‰ The Loop seems to be more accurate, especially for workouts.

The first thing that alarmed me about the Loop was the size.

Loop 1 of 1 2

 

Thankfully, the Pilot was able to snip and reattach it. After that, it fit like a charm. I plugged it into my computer to charge and downloaded the app on my computer and phone.

Some things I noticed after a week or so of wearing:

Cons:

-No alarm! If this had an alarm of some type, it would be my perfect fitness tracker.

-The size. Even after fitting the band to my wrist, it’s still pretty thick. The simple band isn’t too much of an eyesore, but I’d love a daintier band.

-Basic sleep data. I wish it provided more info on my sleep patterns throughout the night. It gives me the duration but that’s pretty much it.

Pros:

-Longer battery life. I was pleasantly surprised with how long the Loop lasted without needing to be charged.

-Display. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about it, but I LOVE being able to see steps, calories, time and activity right there on the wristband. For this reason, I didn’t drain the battery by synching it to my phone throughout the day.

Loop steps

-Heart rate monitor! I feel like this tracker is one of the most accurate versions if you’re going to be wearing it for everyday + workouts. It tells you your workout duration, time in the fat burning zone and fitness zone, and is extremely easy to use. It’s like the best of both worlds for heart rate monitors and fitness trackers. Also, because it’s a Polar brand, many cardio machines will sync and display your heart rate on the screen. Since it had been a while (since I was preg!) from the last time I’d used a HRM, I found that I was totally slacking on some of my workouts and could up the intensity. (cough, watching Downton Abbey on the spin bike, cough)

Polar data

All in all, I’m really happy with the Loop. I’ll be wearing it from now on, especially on the days I work out. 

Want to win one? 

Here’s how to enter:

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

You have until Tuesday night (midnight EST) to enter! I’ll announce the lucky winner Wednesday, 2/19 in the am post.

xoxo

Gina

This post was sponsored by Polar Loop through a compensated campaign with Fitfluential. As always, all opinions are my own. Thank you for supporting this blog and the companies that help support our family <3

Post Navigation:

934 Comments

  1. Joanna on February 19, 2014 at 7:41 am

    I try to get up and go to the bathroom that is the farthest away at work. Sometimes I hate the extra walk but it helps to loosen up my legs from sitting all day at work.

  2. Danielle on February 19, 2014 at 8:20 am

    I’d love to try this!!

  3. Barb on February 19, 2014 at 8:22 am

    It looks huge! Seems like an interesting fitness tool!

  4. Kristina E. on February 19, 2014 at 10:05 am

    I park far away at work- two buildings farther away so I’m forced to move at least three times a day! πŸ˜‰

  5. Katie B on February 19, 2014 at 10:19 am

    I’d love to try this to help me keep track of my activity. As a student, I spend a lot of time sitting down and studying.

  6. Jacki on February 19, 2014 at 11:50 am

    I swear that I feel like I do laps around my office buildings most days!

  7. Amanda on February 19, 2014 at 12:51 pm

    Since I have a desk job it is difficult to find ways to fit in more activity into my day. I often create reasons to run upstairs/ downstairs or down the hall for something. I try to run errands separately to get in even more movement and activity and always take the steps!

  8. Lisa on February 19, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    Love this blog! For a little extra, I chase my boys around the house and get down on their level and play with them. When it’s warm, we’ll head outside for a mandatory walk after dinner!

  9. Elise on February 19, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    I walk 2-3 miles per day commuting – so that’s my way of fitting in a little extra!

  10. Julie on February 19, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    This would be cool to use, to see how effective my non-powermeter based training can be quantified!

  11. Mia on February 19, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    I’m living in the least walk friendly neighborhood that i’ve ever lived in right now. so trying to make sure i do what i an to get extra steps in; parking far away, stairs, extra laps around the store…still not feeling like it’s adding up though…

  12. Angie on February 19, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    This would make a great gift for my hubbys birthday.

  13. Michelle W on February 19, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    the polar loop seems awesome. I love the new trend of having the data for a day of activity.

  14. Natalie Fraser on February 19, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    I walk to and from work everyday (20 minutes each way) instead of taking the bus!

  15. Michelle on February 19, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    Take the stairs everyday at work:)

  16. Pam on February 19, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    I would love to win this.. I’ve been research these and haven’t decided which one I prefer yet.

  17. Courtney on February 19, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    I used to walk to work but I’m at a different job now where I have to drive everyday. I’d like to keep track of much I’m walking now to encourage myself to stay active.

  18. Marta on February 19, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    I usually try to park my car a little further so I can walk a little more πŸ™‚

  19. Claire Elizabeth on February 19, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    I haven’t used a HRM in a while but I would definitely love to start again because I have switched up my workouts. Being able to visualize what my HR is doing during HIIT or weights workouts really helped keep me moving instead of taking breaks that were too long or not working hard enough during the work phases!!

  20. Marita on February 19, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    I take the little girl I nanny for on a few walks during the day to make sure I’m moving around enough!

  21. Dyanna on February 19, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    I get up to talk to people in my office, even for a quick question just to move around a bit more.

  22. Laura on February 19, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    I’d love to win this!

    I’m going in for skin removal surgery in April and have been contemplating getting an activity tracker to monitor my activity and keep track of everything. I won’t be able to continue to run and workout during that time and the only thing I will be able to do is walk, so this would be a great help!

    Laura | Health and Fitness Blogger

  23. Michelle Fencl on February 19, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    I would LOVE to try this!!

  24. Laura on February 19, 2014 at 2:18 pm

    Forgot to add, fitting in extra activity for me during the day is usually a lunch time walk with colleagues for 2 miles.

  25. Kelsey on February 19, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    i work in a restaurant and am always trying to track my steps and activity for the day as a busy server!

  26. Joyce Fu on February 19, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    I take the 6 flight of stairs from my recycle bin room with my doggie too! πŸ™‚

  27. Christina @ The Beautiful Balance on February 19, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    I always make a point to take the stairs. I also have this inability to walk up or down stairs, I always have to jog a little up or down. Weird, I know, but beneficial haha.

  28. Emily on February 19, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    I walk to work about 25 minutes each way.

  29. Erika on February 19, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    I need this! I have been wanting to try a tracker for some time now and I love the features on this one.

  30. Megan on February 19, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    I would love to try a fitness tracker to help keep me consistent πŸ™‚

  31. Bella on February 19, 2014 at 2:44 pm

    I’m in the market for a HRM, and I was planning to buy an F4, so this would be a perfect accompaniment. Thanks for such a complete review.

  32. Diana on February 19, 2014 at 2:44 pm

    Oh what a neat product! I still love my fitbit but I am always up to try new things. This is very cool.

  33. Bridget on February 19, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    I don’t have dainty wrists, so this tracker seems ideal. Also, I have recently started strength training and it would be cool to compare those workouts with my cardio workouts.

  34. ashley on February 19, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    I walk a lot at work and workout everyday…this would be great to track the amount of activity I get each day…would be interesting to finally have it all documented!

  35. Katie on February 19, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    I’m a long time reader and just want to say I absolutely love your blog! Keep up the great work!

    I am a nanny to 2 toddlers, so my days are chasing after them outside or at the park. I enjoy it as much as they do!

  36. Corinne on February 19, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    the Loop sounds great! I am in a 60 days Barre challenge and this would work way better than my dinky pedometer!

  37. carrie on February 19, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    My parking lot is about 1/3 mile from my office, and it’s all uphill on the way there. Then I go to the gym at lunch, and it’s another 1/2 mile walk. Round trip, I get in a little over a 1.5 miles every day, not including my workout. I totally count it as my warm-up/cool-down for the gym!

  38. Susan on February 19, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    I try to take the stairs instead of elevator everywhere I can. I also like to play Just Dance with my kids!

  39. Niki on February 19, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    I try to walk as much as I can during the day especially at work especially on days when I don’t go the gym or go running. I love the tracking aspect of the loop so much to learn from!

  40. dani on February 19, 2014 at 3:42 pm

    I park near the end of parking lots to get a few more steps in!

  41. Sandy on February 19, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    Would love to give this a try!

  42. Kaylin on February 19, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    I lost my watch and have been missing my HR monitor ever since. Would love to try this!

  43. Jennifer on February 19, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    I would love to give this a try. The Y I teach at is planning on getting spin computers for our bikes so I have been looking into a polar hr monitor. The Loop would be a really great to use with it!

  44. Shaina Anderson on February 19, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    this look awesome!

    I’m that Mom that’s doing squats while pushing her kid on the swing at the park. It has started some fun conversations. πŸ™‚ I always take the stairs instead of the escalator (especially with Tripp after a friend of ours had a bad bad accident with her little girl – she’s okay thank God), and Tripp & I LOVE to have impromptu dance parties.

  45. Sammy on February 19, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    COOL!

    my running nike watch is dieing. would love to replace it with something 12387687x better.

    πŸ™‚

  46. Taya on February 19, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    Awesome giveaway! I squeeze in extra activity as a personal trainer by walking on the treadmill with clients as they warm up/cool down (good time to discuss their progress), doing pushups or squats while waiting for the microwave to go off, and setting a 15 minute timer and running around the house, cleaning up as much as I can!

  47. Jessica Mason on February 19, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    Love this! My extra cardio lately is moving my newly crawling 8 month old away from all the things he shouldn’t be touching!

  48. Jenna G on February 19, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    It’s awesome to see the way others fit extra activity into their day. Some of these ideas are great, I will have to give them a try. I always try to get a short walk in a lunch to help get some extra steps in my day. I also find it refreshing since I mostly work sitting at my desk.

  49. katie M on February 19, 2014 at 5:16 pm

    I get up at least once every hour and do a lap outside or talk to co workers. I always park as far away from everything as possible also throughout the day.

  50. Dominique on February 19, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    I’m sure everyone does this, but I try and take the stairs instead of the elevator at work πŸ˜›

Leave a Comment





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest