My P90X3 Review

Hi friends! How’s the day going so far? I can finally post my P90X3 review–apologies for being late to the blogging party today! I had a deadline, and as usual, every type of technology seemed to fail me. (Why does that always happen?) 

Tie dye skirts make everything better. 😉

tie die maxi skirt

After this post goes up, I’m excited to get planting! We had grand plans for it last night, but after dinner and Menchie’s, it was pretty dark. I’m hoping we’ll be able to plant some greens (like kale and chard), but we need to find a good spot in the yard. 

The goods + some pots to expand succulent-palooza:

Succulents ready to plant

Hashtag proud succulent hoarder.

Today, I thought I’d share my review of P90X3, since a few people have asked me about it. I originally ordered it because I thought it would be fun to get in some naptime workouts on the days I don’t teach, and try something new. I’ve always been a fan of the Beachbody workouts (here are my reviews of Insanity and TurboFire) and was really excited to give this a try. I went back and forth between P90X3, PiYo, and T25, and ended up going for P90X3 since I don’t have any Tony Horton DVDs.

P90x3 DVD

The verdict: not my fave.

I’ve had the honor of working out with Tony Horton at IDEA, and he is a powerhouse instructor. He’s HILARIOUS, a wealth of knowledge, and I love his style of cueing and motivational techniques. It didn’t translate well on the videos. The jokes were sooooo awkward, and I felt like they took up a lot of time during workouts that are already short (30 minutes). If I’m going to get in a killer workout in 30 minutes, there’s no time for slow awkward jokes. I want to work hard, and be done.

Here are the pros and cons of the workouts (please keep in mind that I didn’t follow the schedule, I just did the DVDs here and there, and still haven’t done all of the workouts in the set):

MY OTHER VIDEOS

P90X3 Pros

-Balanced workouts. I LOVE that the workouts include a mix of balance, agility, intervals and strength. It’s an effective way to keep the body guessing and encourage results.

-Short! 30 minutes and you’re done. This is great for those who love the original P90X, but didn’t have the time to complete the workouts, as some of the original workouts were an hour +.

-Modifications: there’s always a modifier to watch during the Beachbody workouts, so you know how to modify or progress according to your personal level.

P90X3 Cons

-Not as challenging as I was hoping they’d be. I think this is because I’m used to Insanity and TurboFire, both of which leave me in a puddle of triumphant sweat on the ground. After each workout, even when I was working hard, I didn’t feel like I got everything out of those 30 minutes.

-Long set-ups, and jokes, which took time out of the workout. 

-Fun level: low. It just didn’t have that fitness magic that makes me look forward to a workout. I just felt kind of “meh” about them.

I’d love to try another Beachbody workout this summer, so now I’m back in the PiYo and T25 debate. 😉

Here are posts about them on the blog!

My Insanity recap

Week 1 of Insanity

TurboFire

Advanced TurboFire

Chalean Extreme

Focus On: P90X3

Have you tried any of the Beachbody workouts? Which one is your favorite?

Hope you have a great afternoon <3

xoxo

Gina

Full transparency: I am a Beachbody coach, but do not sell Beachbody products on the blog at this time. <3

Post Navigation:

58 Comments

  1. Krystal on March 31, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    Definitely try t25, or insanity: max 30. They will not disappoint. I actually love the 21 day fix extreme workouts too!

    • Fitnessista on March 31, 2015 at 3:17 pm

      i’ve heard great things about all of those! i’m leaning more towards T25 because i loooove shaun t 😉

      • Lisa on April 1, 2015 at 8:05 am

        Me too. He’s got a good personality, he’s motivating, and he’s pretty easy on the eyes. : )

        • Fitnessista on April 1, 2015 at 3:35 pm

          he’s very nice to look at, and i love his coaching style 🙂

    • Meagan on April 1, 2015 at 12:52 pm

      Doing Insanity Max 30 now and loving it! Once I’m finished, I’m going to pair Max 30 + T25 Gamma for a month or 2. Love Shaun T’s workouts 🙂

  2. Rebecca @ Strength and Sunshine on March 31, 2015 at 3:17 pm

    O my gosh! Haha! We were forced to do P90X workouts (even the yoga one) in gym class during my junior year of high school….everyone just faked it…it was terrible and so dorky! Haha!
    (P.S. LOVE the maxi!)

  3. Melissa on March 31, 2015 at 3:31 pm

    T25 is okayyy, but, I don’t love it. I like his personality but the DVDs to me end up kind of boring . And if you’re looking for a challenge- I’d say save your money and go your own workout.

  4. Caitlin on March 31, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    I did the 60 day PIYO program and I loved it. I always sweat a lot but it is all bodyweight and very repetitive. Some workouts were 20 minutes and I didn’t feel like I worked hard enough, but it was definitely a nice change of pace and helped immensely with my flexibility! I think you’d enjoy it sprinkled into your fitness routine too 🙂 Currently I’m doing the 21 day fix, which I LOVE. Every day is a different workout-one for each one of the week, and it’s an even mix of cardio days, an arm day, leg day, yoga, and pilates. Super fun and always room to build strength as you go along!

    I’d be interested to try some of the other workouts you’ve reviewed too!

  5. Meggie @ My Grace-Full Life on March 31, 2015 at 3:50 pm

    I love T25! I am super curious about Insanity Max 30- would love to see a review on it. Shaun T is the best!

  6. Lauren @ The Bikini Experiment on March 31, 2015 at 3:51 pm

    I mostly do You Tube videos for yoga when I can’t make it to class. Thanks for the review – I always really like to be up on what’s out there. Technology always fails me at the worst times too. 🙂 Hope you made your deadline.

  7. Kate on March 31, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    I did the 60 days of piyo last year after recovering from a surgery. I needed something low impact that would help me ease my way back into working out. I absolutely loved it. Chalene has great energy and is very motivating. She makes it fun. It is low impact, but it is not low intensity! It really gets your heart rate up and sweating and the stretching really leaves you feeling good afterwards. I still do it once or twice a week now usually on Days when I can’t make it to the gym or even after an outdoor run. My favorite are the buns, core and drench:) I feel like piyo really keeps me feeling toned.

  8. Megan @ Skinny Fitalicious on March 31, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    No bueno on the awkward jokes. I can never do at home videos. I never feel like I’m really working out and it’s difficult to catch onto the moves if they go to fast. It’s never been my thing. I do like to do barre and pilates workouts at home probably because they are much slower.

  9. Rebekah on March 31, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    I love love love Chalene Johnson! I did Turbo Jam way back in the day and also have her Turbo Fire workouts, which I love. I am in the middle of Piyo (just started month 2 of the 60 day program) and I am LOVING it…almost more than Turbo Fire! I find that I am drenched and super red faced after almost every workout. I am seeing a huge change in my muscle tone as well, which I think is awesome. I have the 21 Day Fix, which I also really like, especially because the workouts are 30 minutes. I also have T25, but I injured myself doing it. I’m not so much of a plyometrics girl and I feel like that was a lot of T25, even with the modifications. I may go back and try it again later, but for now, I’m sticking with Piyo. After I finish this round, I may do a Turbo Fire/Piyo hybrid. I’m definitely on the Chalene Johnson train!! I’d love to hear your thoughts on Piyo.

  10. Jess on March 31, 2015 at 4:05 pm

    That skirt is amazing! Looks so stylish and secretly super comfortable!

    • Fitnessista on March 31, 2015 at 4:19 pm

      it’s like sweatpants haha 🙂

  11. Ashley @ A Lady Goes West on March 31, 2015 at 4:07 pm

    I tried one of the 21-Day Fix Plyo DVDs and felt it was great. Challenging, clear and doable. I had no idea you were a Beachbody Coach. Did you ever run challenge groups? Cool! 🙂

    • Fitnessista on March 31, 2015 at 4:20 pm

      i haven’t really done anything with it. i just wanted to learn more about the workouts because i love them so much, and drink all the shakeology because it’s soooo good

  12. Hayley@healthyregardshayley on March 31, 2015 at 4:20 pm

    I tried PiYo and did not love it. The workouts are super short and not very challenging.

  13. Lori on March 31, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    I’m glad to read your review about this! Years ago I tried P90X and didn’t love it because the workouts were so long! I have TurboFire and Combat and LOVE both of them. There are some silly jokes in Combat but the workouts make up for them.

  14. Shari on March 31, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    I did P90x years ago and hated it because the workouts were so long. I have Tony Horton’s 10 minute trainer now and it’s ok. I don’t really love it. I bought it to switch up my strength training workouts and while it’s quick and balanced the jokes are awkward and I just don’t look forward to doing it.

  15. Julia @ Lord Still Loves Me on March 31, 2015 at 5:03 pm

    Your maxi skirt is adorable! I have such trouble finding skirts that work with my short legs. I’m on the smaller side and I always end up just dragging the material on the bottom. It results in dirty clothing and an unhappy me. I did a P90X video once, and I remember it being a GOOD workout. Videos have never been my thing though. I did enjoy your review and always love a different perspective!

  16. Jessie on March 31, 2015 at 5:16 pm

    I really enjoy body combat but I’ve only taken a class at the gym, but I was thinking of buying the DVDs because I really do like it.

    I really like your maxi skirt. It looks nice on you!

  17. Ashley on March 31, 2015 at 5:22 pm

    I loved insanity and 21 day fix. I know that beach body just released a streaming option so you can try tons of different workouts. What do you think of their vegan protein? I’m on the fence about the taste.

  18. Sam @ Grapefruit & Granola on March 31, 2015 at 5:33 pm

    I’ve actually never tried a beachbody workout. My dogs go cuhhhhrazy when I do any kind of home workout.

  19. Christina on March 31, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    So funny you posted this today I just did two of the p90x3 DVDs and literally felt the same way! I actually thought to myself I need a new workout plan when is summer shape up starting!!

  20. Courtney on March 31, 2015 at 6:18 pm

    I’ve never tried the full P90X program but Tony Horton was at my University this past Saturday + I got to go to his workout event! He was great! So funny + motivating!! I’m not sure I would enjoy the full program….so it is interesting to hear your opinion! Thanks Gina ! +++ I have tried several different classes, like Turbo Kick + PiYo [which I LOVEDD] I would say get the PiYo DVD! 🙂

  21. Michele on March 31, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    this is going to be the most awkward/odd compliment, ever… but! you’re really good at giving “bad” reviews. I feel like a lot of people just rant when they don’t like something, but you explain why, and in a way that helps people make a decision… including those who might get something positive out of (whatever “it” is). Obviously nothing is for everyone, but you keep things positive and informative and I really appreciate that! especially when it is SO easy to just rant. I realllly want to try one of the beachbody dvds, but I can never pull the trigger, because the price point is high enough that I want to KNOW I’ll love it. Honesty helps 🙂

  22. Lindsay on March 31, 2015 at 6:30 pm

    Thanks for the review. I’ve always been curious. You should try the new Jillian Michaels Body Shred DVD program. I’m half way through. It’s geared toward those who are already in good shape and supposed to get you in amazing shape. It is very challenging but I’m already seeing huge results in my strength. Love it!

  23. Kara H. on March 31, 2015 at 6:35 pm

    Love love love PiYo! Doing it right now. I love Chalene in general though. Who wouldn’t want to jump around and burn major calories with that Turbo music. 😉

  24. Sara on March 31, 2015 at 7:04 pm

    i just finished max30 and loveddddd it! I have done insanity and t25 and max30 is the best one yet!!!

  25. Lauren on March 31, 2015 at 7:24 pm

    I do piyo live at the gym and I LOVE it. It’s amazing how strong I am after consistently going! I thought about buying the DVDs but I find working out at home to be super unmotivating.

  26. Nicole on March 31, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    I personally love P90X! I’ve never tried the 30 minute ones, but the original workouts, while long, are excellent. And I find Tony Horton to be fun and motivating during these videos. They’re my favorite workout videos to date.

  27. Sydney@Project Sydney on March 31, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    LOVE PiYo, and the workouts from 21 Day Fix extreme (much better than normal 21 day fix)…I’ve heard great things about Insanity Asylum and Focus T25…one of these two is next on my list….

  28. Nicole on March 31, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    Coming back to ask- have you tried the original P90X workouts? Just curious if you don’t like those too, because since I do, it might indicate we like a different style and I’d be inclined to skip Insanity, which I’ve been considering. Thanks!

    • Fitnessista on April 1, 2015 at 3:39 pm

      i haven’t. i have some friends that love them!

  29. Heather on March 31, 2015 at 8:26 pm

    I just ordered P90X3, but I’ve never done Insanity before. Hopefully, based on your review, it’s a good “Pre-Insanity” workout to build up. I’ll be reading your other reviews as well, as I have interest in the other programs too. Thanks for the info!

  30. Elle on March 31, 2015 at 9:16 pm

    I have that skirt too and its my favorite! Target has a black and white tie dye romper this season that reminds me a lot of this skirt.

  31. Whitney on March 31, 2015 at 9:45 pm

    Cannot handle that man even a little.

    Shaun T my friend. Bananas. Why would you abandon him? I have Insanity 30… we could probably arrange a burn. 🙂

    xo

  32. Katie on April 1, 2015 at 3:54 am

    You should totally try 21 day fix or extreme (if you really want challenging). 30 minutes, intense, but fun! I’ve been doing a mix of both for 13 weeks now and haven’t gotten bored yet!!

  33. Shara on April 1, 2015 at 4:06 am

    You should try 21 day fix extreme – I love it and definitely feel like it gets it done in 30 minutes. I agree that Tony’s jokes are akward on the dvds that I’ve tried. My husband loves the P90X series but they just aren’t for me.

    • Fitnessista on April 1, 2015 at 3:38 pm

      k, i’ve heard great things about that one!

  34. Kristin on April 1, 2015 at 5:05 am

    I have the original P90X and I’m not a fan either. It just wasn’t fun which is a huge turn off. I do love Insanity, T25, and the old school Turbo Jam.

  35. angie on April 1, 2015 at 5:20 am

    Although I haven’t done P90X3 I have done #1….I don’t mind the length but Tony’s voice and jokes IRK the crap out of me. SMH I have to mute it the whole video. LOL

    I do however LOVE LOVE LOVE T25. I have Insanity Max 30, its ok. I don’t like the Tabata Power video. annoys me soo bad.
    Ive actually been doing Insanity again lately along with run intervals on the treadmill. LOVE IT. After having my daughter I am sooo determined to get this preggo weight OFF!

  36. Nicole on April 1, 2015 at 5:22 am

    Honestly, I was disappointed in piyo. I do love Chalene Johnson, but I didn’t feel as though the workouts were very challenging. Also, the yoga portions were pretty lame- sort of like p90x yoga- and I found myself skipping over them. The piyo dvd I continue to use is the bonus turbo fire hiit one, and that’s not even piyo!

    That being said, some of the work outs are fun, and I appreciate that they are short enough to do in 30-40 min. And, I didn’t follow the calendar, though I doubt that would’ve maked me enjoy it more.

    • Fitnessista on April 1, 2015 at 3:36 pm

      interesting- i’m glad you told me! i love chalene too, but have heard the workouts aren’t very dynamic

  37. Christina on April 1, 2015 at 5:41 am

    I am a big fan of the 21 Day Fix – I was able to modify and make it through the workouts when I was terribly out of shape, and they helped me get into pretty good shape pretty quick! The workouts are pretty easily scaleable, so you can continue to up your weights/reps to keep it challenging. I’d like to try the 21DF Extreme, but my joints can’t take all the jumping/plyo type stuff, so I’ll probably skip it.

    I am current doing P90 (no X), and I really love it. Phase A was pretty slow-moving (the cueing is great and super helpful if you’re not sure what you’re doing – but that plus the time eaten up by awkward jokes makes for a slooooow workout), but I moved on to Phase B after two weeks and I am loving it. Again, really easily scaleable, a lot of variety (resistance training, mixed martial arts, etc), and fun! There is some plyo/higher impact stuff, but not enough that I’ve found it to irritate my knees, which is always my issue. I am excited to see what Phase C brings!

  38. Brandy H. on April 1, 2015 at 5:49 am

    I have Piyo and love it! I don’t do it everyday (I do not follow the schedule) because I get bored easy! But it’s a great workout 1-2 times a week! I want to try T25 next!

  39. Sara S on April 1, 2015 at 5:54 am

    I have that same skirt! Target I think?

    I have been looking into Piyo…was thinking it would be a good option to mix things up 🙂

    • Fitnessista on April 1, 2015 at 3:36 pm

      yep!

  40. Erin @ Erin's Inside Job on April 1, 2015 at 8:52 am

    Thanks for the review. The cover obviously makes it look intense, but it’s good to know that that can be deceptive 🙂

  41. kristin | W [H] A T C H on April 1, 2015 at 9:44 am

    i ordered p90x years ago, but was never consistent with it. it just didn’t stick. i know some people who have really loved it though!

  42. Tracy on April 1, 2015 at 10:47 am

    Sorry I don’t have any input on Beachbody workouts (except I’d love to try Shakeology, but $$$). I do love your cute maxi skirt though!! Can you please share where you found it?

    • Fitnessista on April 1, 2015 at 3:40 pm

      target last year! let me know if you want some shakeo. i’ll just scoop some out of the bag to give to friends to try

      • Tracy on April 2, 2015 at 8:58 am

        I’d love to try some! Are you sure you want to give up a scoop?

  43. Esther on April 1, 2015 at 12:52 pm

    I love your skirt!!

  44. Kristen on April 6, 2015 at 4:37 pm

    Thanks for the review! I’ve been an avid worker-outer-at-homer for the last 16 years since my daughter was born. It’s the only way I can fit it into my schedule with any consistency. I bought all of the P57 DVD’s after your review and use them religiously. LOVE them. I’ve never tried any of the Beachbody programs. I have been very curious about them though. I don’t like high impact anymore though – any you recommend for me?

  45. Jenn on June 18, 2015 at 8:58 am

    21 day fix extreme is my absolute favorite! Autumn is non-stop and leaves me in that satisfying puddle of sweat every time…plus she isn’t annoying like Tony. I bought the P90X3 and there are only 2 workouts in the whole set that I mildly like: CVX and the Warrior. Thinking about trying Insanity Max next.

  46. Brandy on January 8, 2016 at 6:27 pm

    My favorite BB program (that I’ve tried) is 21 Day Fix Extreme. I prefer a weighted program since I get cardio through running. I recently purchased P90x3 and I’m bored with it as well. If the workout is 30 minutes it needs to be faster. I wasn’t a fan of T25 either really. Too much running and jumping in place. Looking forward to trying the Master’s Hammer and Chisel next. Piyo is good if you like yoga and pilates. Good low intensity program.

Leave a Comment





Pin It on Pinterest