DVD reviews + Fashion Friday

Good morning! 😀 Happy FASHION FRIDAY – hope your day is off to a good start <3

Dinner last night was super simple…. some TJs PB-filled pretzels straight outta the bag, 😉

some kale and tomatoes (massaged with Nama Shoyu, Garlic Gold, cayenne, sea salt and rice vinegar)

kale

topped with cooked quinoa.

kale and quinoa

I also snuck into the yoga room and did TurboFire (EZ 45). When I did the workout, I wasn’t feeling too terrible (just a runny nose and slight headache) and it made me feel a thousand times better. [If you decide to workout while you’re sick, always use your best judgment.] I went in there telling myself I’d do 5 minutes and if I felt terrible, I would stop. When I looked at the clock, 20 minutes had passed and I was having a blasty so I finished the workout 🙂

This morning, I feel a lot better than yesterday *knock on wood* so I’m hoping I can train clients today. This week has felt like such a waste, but I’m very glad I got sick this week instead of next week for the HLS!

MY OTHER VIDEOS

Bfast was the usual bfast cookie dough cereal with a crumbled carrot cake cookie on top

bfast cookie cereal

Ahhhhmazin’

The plan for the day:

-Errands

-Juice

-Start to hunt down boxes for the big move (!)

-Find shoes for HLS

-3 training appointments

-Turbo (HIIT 20 and Sculpt 30)

See ya later today <3

xoxo,

Gina

Something to do: Send me a review of your favorite workout DVD. I received a reader’s request asking to review all of the workout DVDs I’ve tried, but how awesome would it be if we had a massive collection of reviews on one page??? I’ll be posting this next Thursday, so please get your workout DVD reviews + 1 pic to fitnessista at gmail dot com (subject: DVD review) by Wednesday, August 11.

It’s Fashion Friday!!! For this week’s Fashion Friday post, I thought I’d pick a style that I’m not too crazy about… yet. I can tell it will be one of those things that I’ll have to see everyone wearing before it grows on me –like skinny jeans… took me forever to join the club on that one- but it’s starting to take over…

BOLD SHOULDERS

Bold shoulders can be seen on many blazers, tops and dresses this season. It’s a pretty fierce look and the extra emphasis on shoulders creates a more hourglass silhouette.

image Saks

image Topshop

image Urban Outfitters

image Saks

With the return of bold shoulders, it has also been the return of these…

image Shoulder pads!!!

Do/will you rock the bold shoulder trend this season??

Post Navigation:

42 Comments

  1. jenna on August 6, 2010 at 11:08 am

    your dinner looks simple and wholesome!

    no, i won’t be sporting shoulder pads….i sort of cringe at the thought of them coming back in style.

    can’t wait to hear where youre off to next!! 🙂

  2. Shanna @ Shanna Like Banana on August 6, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Soooo not ready for the bold shoulders…it took me a while to get on the skinny jeans thing too, but I still feel they are way more flattering than star trek shoulders 😉

    How do you possibly stop yourself from eating the whole bag of TJ PB pretzels…so delicious!

    • Fitnessista on August 6, 2010 at 11:19 am

      they are SO good. i definitely had to convince myself to put the bag down and make a *real* dinner 🙂

  3. Heather (Heather's Dish) on August 6, 2010 at 11:12 am

    no please on the shoulder pads! but gathered fabrics look great 🙂

  4. allison @ livingoneday on August 6, 2010 at 11:16 am

    eek no i do not rock the bold shoulder! and i probably wont haha. your kale salad looks soooo good i really want to try the massaged. normally i bake it or saute it in chicken broth and garlic

  5. Janna on August 6, 2010 at 11:18 am

    I LOVE the bold shoulders. I might not go as far as purchasing shoulder pads, but I definitely love the look! Hope you feel 100% better soon 🙂

  6. Jocelyn on August 6, 2010 at 11:21 am

    ohhh dear goodness NO…I will NOT be rocking the big bold shoulder pad looks…not now, not ever! lol

  7. nicole@making good choices on August 6, 2010 at 11:22 am

    I can remember my mom pulling out and putting in shoulder pads. I can’t imagine ill be rocking them, but never say never right?

  8. dotsie on August 6, 2010 at 11:25 am

    No, absolutely no bold shoulder rockin’ going on over here…so fugly, I’m sorry!!! hahahaha…

    • Fitnessista on August 6, 2010 at 11:26 am

      hahaha!

  9. Becky on August 6, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Nope, don’t like shoulder pads at all !! If we workout our upper body we can have the tapered look without them !!

  10. Jessica @ Dairy Free Bety on August 6, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Hope you are better too!!!!!!!!!!!!

    There is no way I am rockin the shoulder pads… I have broad shoulders as it is, so technically I am already rockin the style! muahhahaaa

  11. Michelle @ Turning Over a New Leaf on August 6, 2010 at 11:32 am

    NO WAY. I hated shoulder pads when they were in style (as a kid!) and I sure don’t need anything to make my large frame look even more mammoth. Some of the shirts I got as hand-me-downs (-ups? she’s younger than me) from my cousin have those gathered, bubbly-type sleeves, and that in itself is on the verge of damaging my psyche.

  12. LisaG on August 6, 2010 at 11:32 am

    My son can eat a whole bag of pb pretzels! I didn’t know about the return of the 80’s shoulder pads! Too funny how trends come back around. My 2 sisters & I totally did the shoulder pads back then!

  13. Sarah Jayne on August 6, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Bahhhh the shoulders!!! I was JUST in Tj jazz yesterday and tweeted about finding t shirts & sweaters with shoulder pads in them?!!!! Nooooooo THANK you! I naturally have verrrry broad shoulders so I think this style would make me look like a football player. Ew. However, I am/have been a fan of puffed/ruched shoulders.

  14. Holly @ couchpotatoathlete on August 6, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Uh, I like the shirts with some decoration on the shoulders, but NO NO NO to the shoulder pads! They make me look like I have no neck! Ick.

    I’m glad you are feeling better – I think the FIYAH healed you!

  15. Sandra on August 6, 2010 at 11:42 am

    I cut the shoulder pads out of things when I was a kid. No way I would buy them on purpose now. I really want carrot cake suddenly…. hmmmmm…

  16. kathleen on August 6, 2010 at 11:47 am

    No way! I have already went thru this trend once. I am too old to repeat it.

  17. Sarah on August 6, 2010 at 11:52 am

    HAHA EW! Bold shoulders aren’t in this season! That was Fall 2009. That’s not very fashion forward at all.

    • Fitnessista on August 6, 2010 at 11:54 am

      yup- they are in this season. they were runway last fall, but people are actually wearing them this season

  18. Elise on August 6, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Cue Dallas music (or possibly Dynasty)…

    BACK AWAY FROM THE SHOULDER PADS…lol

  19. Amisha on August 6, 2010 at 11:57 am

    I already have a sweater that has the same shoulders as that dress from Topshop. Funny…I bought the sweater last year from Topshop in London. I absolutely love it because it’s ruched and looks bold, but really feminine.

    Not so sure about the shoulder pads though! Yuck. So not flattering.

  20. alison on August 6, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Oh no! Those bold shoulders are scary. Brings back way too many 80s nightmare fashion memories. I have broad shoulders as it is, so any time I wore shoulder pads, I looked like a football linebacker. I’ll have to pass.

  21. April @ Crazy Fabulous Life on August 6, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…no way, Fitnessista. I prefer to leave the shoulder pads in the 80s/90s where they belong!

  22. Amy (Healthy>Thin) on August 6, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Shoulder pads? No thanks. I don’t think they will ever grow on me either but we’ll see!

  23. Jessica @ Jessica Balances on August 6, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Glad you are feeling better! 🙂 I do like the strong shoulder look – but I’m not a fan of shoulder pads and don’t plan on sporting them… Never say never, though!

  24. Andrea on August 6, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I don’t think I can get into the bold shoulders. I am scarred by a picture of myself when I was in 6th grade on a Washington DC trip. I was the only kid in the picture wearing a dress with huge shoulder pads and a fanny pack.

    • Fitnessista on August 6, 2010 at 2:08 pm

      haha! AWESOME 🙂 i was right there with ya

  25. Naomi(onefitfoodie) on August 6, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    what a graet idea! do you want reviews of the whole set if thats what we have, or just one of the dvd’s in a set?

    • Fitnessista on August 6, 2010 at 2:08 pm

      sure you can do the whole set if you’d like 🙂

  26. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin' on August 6, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Love the DVD review idea!

    I will NOT be wearing bold shoulders anytime soon… no thanks. 😉

  27. fittingbackin on August 6, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    I LOVE a bold shoulder and several of my shirts from season’s past rock it, but i draw the line at shoulder pads. NO MAM!!

    Love the idea of reviews!

  28. Faith @ lovelyascharged on August 6, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Just say NO to shoulder pads! I have no desire to look like I’m built like a linebacker, thank you very much!

  29. Ilana on August 6, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Instead of going straight for the super-structured bold shoulder look, try out something more delicate, ruffled sleeves or puffed cap sleeves. It still evokes the look without being TOO eighties-power-suit.

  30. Mary on August 6, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    I recently bought a top with some puffy detailing on the shoulders. It’s cute, but I have scrawny shoulders anyway.

    So have you said in comments somewhere where you’re moving to or is this a ‘tune in next week’ thing? LOL

  31. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) on August 6, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Shoulder pads?! OMG havent thought about those since 1986 LOL. No, I won’t be rocking them. I am almost 6 feet tall. Shoulder pads are gonna make me look like a linebacker, not a woman! haha!

    Girl I am sooo with you on being sick and working out. Sometimes it’s gonna help, and sometimes it aint happening. At all. Glad it worked out for you.

    The DVD compilation/massive review…you are a brave woman for tackling this! I remember when you did a smoothie recipe post..inbox overfloweth! I run one contest/give away per week and my box runs over, but I don’t have to “do” anything, i.e. compile anything.

    Better you than me…haha! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  32. Laura J. on August 6, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Baha, I think I’m gonna have to say “pass!” to the shoulder pads! 😛

    Breakfast cookie dough cereal with carrot cake cookie? Um, yes please! How exactly does one go about making this?

    Glad you’re starting to feel better!! Just in time for the weekend 🙂

    • Fitnessista on August 6, 2010 at 6:02 pm

      just make a bfast cookie minus the mashed banana, add more milk, sliced banana and crumble a cookie on top 🙂

  33. Alexa@Living La Vida Pura on August 6, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Strong shoulders? Good.

    Shoulder pads? Bad.

  34. Sana on August 6, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    I hope you are back to feeling amazinggg for HLS!!

  35. Lian on August 7, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    don’t know if this would be of interest to others, but i was wondering what it is you tend to look for when you’re reading the ingredients/nutrition facts on a label. i do the obvious things like making sure all ingredients are all natural and not refined etc, and that there isn’t a ton of sugar, but like last time you mentioned that the odwalla juices are high in calories without also containing a good amount of protein… what ‘ratios’ or other specific things do you tend look for when deciding whether or not to eat/buy it ?
    Thanks 🙂

  36. Krista (kristastes) on August 7, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Shoulder pads/poofs are a horrendous fashion trend. I’m not opinionated at all! 🙂

Leave a Comment





Pin It on Pinterest