Review: Advanced TurboFire DVDs

As you guys know, I’m a huge fan of “the fiyah.” I just love workouts that can be done at home with minimal space and equipment- I’m always looking for ways to spice up my at-home fitness routine. Some faves are: Zuzana ZWOW workouts (I used to LOVE BodyRock, but since she left I’m not really a fan anymore), Insanity, Pop Pilates, Physique 57, Winsor Pilates (old school, but amazing), Zumba and of course, Turbofire.

I first tried the DVDs a couple of years ago following Insanity. I was instantly hooked. Since then, they’ve remained a regular component of my workout routine. After we had Livi and I could workout again, was excited to bring them back into my life.

turbo4

I did a few of the workouts early in my pregnancy, but only did the EZ -don’t be faked out by the name- DVDs and modified the HIIT intervals so they were lower intensity and low impact. One of my favorite aspects of the DVDs is that Allie (the girl on the far right) provides low impact modifications throughout all of the workouts, so if you’re just getting started, you have someone to watch.

If you’re interested in the regular Turbo DVDs, here are some posts I’ve written about them:

Focus On: TurboFire

Got the Fiyah

At-home workout options

turbofire_chalene_johnson_kick

Basically, I have a girl crush on Chalene Johnson.

MY OTHER VIDEOS

She’s inspirational, easy on the “cheeze” (I don’t get sick of what she’s saying if I’ve done that particular DVD many times), picks great music and choreography. TurboFire really challenged me and since I’ve been doing the DVDs for so long, I decided to order the advanced DVD set.

new turbo

Here’s what the advanced set includes:

Fire 60: This DVD KILLED ME. The only thing that kept me from turning it off was the fact that the combos were fun and different than the other DVDs, and Chalene said towards the end, “We’ve been to war together! Don’t quit on me now! Give me everything you’ve got” so I had to listen 😉 I burned a little over 600 calories doing this DVD, but considering the time commitment and varying nap times, I’m not sure how much this DVD will be used. My favorite Fire DVD is 45 and always will be.

Stretch 10: A lovely stretch. I’ve actually used this DVD a few times at night after a day of teaching to stretch before bed. Per usual, she talks throughout the stretches so you can hold it a little bit longer and I like that it’s very low key and relaxing.

Upper 20/Lower 20: Both of these workouts utilize resistance bands and high reps for muscular endurance. The lower body workout really got my booty and outer thighs- I loved it and thought the exercises flowed really well together. The upper body workout wasn’t anything crazy: bicep curls, lateral raises, overhead presses, etc., but I still got a nice burn from it. I’ll use the lower body workout more often than the upper body one.

HIIT 30: My favorite of the group. HIIT is INTENSE, which is why you shouldn’t do it everyday, but I feel like 30 minutes is the *sweet spot* of cardio time for me. It’s long enough to really get my heart rate up and get in a good sweat, without taking a huge chunk out of my day. I love this DVD because includes the same plyometric movements that you’re used to from the other HIIT DVDs (lots and lots of tuck jumps) and while it kicked my booty, it wasn’t too much. I felt energized after this workout and could feel my slightly elevated heart rate throughout the rest of the day.

turbo5

The verdict? I definitely recommend adding these to your TurboFire rotation, especially if you’ve had the DVDs for a while and are looking for a refresher. I’ll keep doing them and when I travel, I’ll always add a TurboFire DVD to my suitcase. They make fantastic hotel workouts.

Some things to keep in mind:

-They do involve choreography, so don’t be afraid of learning combos. Chalene is extremely good at cueing and making sure you know what’s next. Also, there’s a “new to class” feature that breaks down everything slowly.

-The workouts are high impact and high energy. You have the option to modify as necessary, but be sure to check with a doc and consider your fitness level if you decide to add it into your routine.

Would you, or have you, tried TurboFire? What’s your all-time fave workout DVD?

Hope everyone is enjoying their night! Time to make some tacos for dinner.

xoxo

G

Post Navigation:

64 Comments

  1. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes on May 14, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    Wow I’ve never heard of these and they sound amazing. Thanks for featuring 🙂

  2. Brittany on May 14, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    I’ve never tried TurboFire but after reading your reviews I think I would really like it.

    I still have the Insanity DVDs, but I haven’t tried them yet because I was nervous about the high impact exercises after being injured. This post was a good reminder that I need to pull those out and give them a try!

    Enjoy the tacos!

    • Fitnessista on May 14, 2012 at 11:48 pm

      i know you would like it 🙂
      miss you, friend! xoxo

  3. Tricia on May 14, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    I’ve never tried TurboFire but definitely would! I love BodyRock and do their workouts regularly (I started after Zuzana left so never got attached to her…I really like Lisa Marie though! She seems really down to earth and motivating once you get past the slight porno flare they have going on with their pics and filming haha 🙂 I just look past all that because the workouts are great! )

  4. Barb on May 14, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    I love turbofire. I’ve done tons of stuff to keep in shape, and it is by far my favorite. I annoy my poor husband so much, because I will go around humming that I’m a bad girl song all day. There is something to be said about a workout that has me jumping out of bed at 5 every morning, excited to do it!

    • Fitnessista on May 14, 2012 at 11:47 pm

      hahaha i love that song! i always sing “we want the funk”

      • Rebekah on November 9, 2012 at 11:25 pm

        I’m late to this party (the Advanced Classes)…but I’ve been doing the regular for a while and love it, so I think I’m buying the advanced for my birthday. I sing “Boom I Got Your Boyfriend” all day long and try to puff it out when it comes on during the workout! LOL!

  5. Katelyn @ Chef Katelyn on May 14, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    I remember when I was in high school I used to watch the infomercials alllll the time. She is such a balllaaaa

  6. Kelly on May 14, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    I love TurboFire. I have been doing it since October. One round alone and a P90X/TurboFire Hybrid. My next program will be Insanity. I love the Beachbody workouts!

    I love the ZWOW workouts! I tried to like the BodyRock ones after Zu left but couldn’t really get into anymore.

    • Fitnessista on May 14, 2012 at 11:45 pm

      i just love her and think she has such a sweet personality. nothing against the other hosts, but i prefer her

  7. Marie-Santé on May 14, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    Agree on the Zuzana thing! I prefer her own thing. I was shy to recommend BodyRock or check it at my job. It felt like mild porn : – /

    • Fitnessista on May 14, 2012 at 11:45 pm

      it’s kind of inappropriate now.

  8. Sarra on May 14, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    i’m obsessed with turbo! fire 45 is my favoriteeee “boom i got your boyfriend!”

    • Fitnessista on May 14, 2012 at 11:44 pm

      i got yo man 🙂

  9. Ali @ Peaches and Football on May 14, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    Awesome – I love it when new DVDs become available for exercise programs you already enjoy. I’m getting back into the workout swing and am starting with just walking right now but I’m reviewing the original Turbo Fire so I can see what makes the most sense to add into the rotation first.

    Can’t wait till I’m advanced enough to try the advanced ones too!

  10. kristen @ verbs and vignettes on May 14, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    i don’t know about these specifically (since i haven’t gotten the intensity up in a while), but i <3 workout dvds. even the super cheesy, 80s-style ones. so great to bounce around in the living room (usually in my pajamas), and still get to call it exercise.

  11. mallory on May 14, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    I have never done organized fitness like this but it seems intriguing. Do you have recommendations for a beginner?

    • Fitnessista on May 14, 2012 at 11:43 pm

      for what type of workout?

      • mallory on May 15, 2012 at 9:25 am

        Anything that can be done at home with minimal equipment. All the fitness centers near my home offer spin or bootcamp classes and that is it. I’m not ready to tackle either of those yet but would love to start getting my blood circulating or engaging my muscles in a more orderly fashion, haha! My exercise comes from rollerblading, kayaking or this fun zombie, run app on my phone. I need some structure!

  12. mary on May 14, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    I haven’t done Turbo Fire but I have the original Turbo Jam set. Do they still sell that? It might be a good acquisition for a Chalene junkie.

    Also, have you thought of trying her Chalean Extreme set?

    • Fitnessista on May 14, 2012 at 11:43 pm

      you’re right, i’ve been wanting to try turbojam!
      i have thought about it but figured since it’s been out for so long it might not be worth it- have you tried it?

      • mary on May 15, 2012 at 12:53 pm

        No, I haven’t tried anything but the original TJ, I don’t think. I love HER, though! I burned out on DVDs a while back and still can’t stomach the thought anymore.

      • Melissa on May 15, 2012 at 1:51 pm

        Just wanted to chime in–the CE DVDs are great and a good workout. If you get the deluxe it will also have some cardio DVDs and there is a schedule out there that integrates both TurboFire and Chalene Extreme into one big schedule!

        • Fitnessista on May 15, 2012 at 2:03 pm

          i saw that there’s a schedule with both of them- amazing! good to know you’re a fan.. it’s something i might check out in the future. the only bummer is that i don’t have dumbbells and have been avoiding investing in a set

  13. Taylor on May 14, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Ok, this doesn’t have anything to do with the questions you asked, but I was wondering what major you took in college and classes that enabled you to be able to do what you do. I am an organic, workout, health freak fanatic and am leaving for college in the fall and would like to pinpoint a major that would enable me to do what you do in addition to doing a nutritionist type thing. Looking forward to hearing from you! Also, just wanted to say that I love your blog and look forward to reading what you post everyday!

    Oh I did think of an answer to your question….

    When I fist realized my need to get healthy and start working out about four years ago, I used at home video workouts. I started with some Leslie Sansone ones (not a big challenge, but you work up a good sweat and your heart rate goes up) and then I progressed to longer intense ones like Dance Fusion, a boot camp one, and Jillian Michaels kick boxing. I now do some intense training with an elite rowing coach on land. We do cross-fit, interval type stuff. Then on my own I usually throw in some spinning and abs at home.

    • Fitnessista on May 14, 2012 at 11:42 pm

      hi taylor,
      my major has pretty much nothing to do at all with what i do: i have a bsba in finance. haha
      i love math and finance and it’s good to know that i have other career possibilities in the future if i feel like changing it up (which i doubt will happen)
      as far as choosing a college path, you have to go with what you’re passionate about and what you see yourself doing in the future. i’m biased but think that a business degree is always the way to go
      best of luck to you <3

  14. Melissa (Better Fit) on May 14, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    Great review! I haven’t tried Turbo Fire but it sounds good. 30 mins is a good sweet spot for me for cardio as well.

  15. Amy@healthyhungryhappy.com on May 14, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    these sounds great!!! ill definitely look into them after having our baby in september..sounds like a great way to get back in shape!

  16. Lisa on May 14, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    I haven’t tried turbofire because I am in no way a good dancer. Are these more danced based? I do loooove Zuzana and Insanity. Two of my favourites!

    • Fitnessista on May 15, 2012 at 12:06 am

      they’re like kickboxing meets dance

  17. Laura @ She Eats Well on May 15, 2012 at 12:48 am

    I want to try these SO bad. But I do not think I have enough space in my small little apartment…with hardwood floors…but still, maybe one day! They look so challenging and fun.

  18. Julie on May 15, 2012 at 2:10 am

    I love TurboKick class and I like Chalene. I took her class in person and felt the energy in the room. It was packed though!

    • Fitnessista on May 15, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      NO WAY! i’m jealous

  19. Brett Marie on May 15, 2012 at 3:34 am

    Just added these to my TF rotation, too, and man are you right?! That Fire 60 dvd almost killed me, but Chalene is so inspirational, you feel guilty quitting on her. I loved the Lower 20 too, as you would say my “biscuits were burning”! haha. I owe you a humongous thank you (or “plank you” as the case may be) for inspiring me to try Turbo Fire- it is now my absolute favorite at-home workout 🙂

    • Fitnessista on May 15, 2012 at 12:35 pm

      yayyyy i’m so glad you like it 🙂
      plank you for letting me know 😉 haha

  20. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin on May 15, 2012 at 7:59 am

    Thanks for the review! I don’t own any workout DVDs but I’ve been thinking of buying some just to switch up my workout routine. I’ve been getting bored of my running/spinning/weights routine lately. 😛 And I feel like my body has adapted to it too much, so I need a way to challenge myself again. These DVDs actually sound perfect!

  21. Erica on May 15, 2012 at 9:20 am

    I LOVE TurboFire!! Like you, I’ve been doing it for a few years now, and it never gets old! Fire 45 is my fave– killer workout in the perfect amount of time. The music is awesome and Chalene is the best! I haven’t ventured into the Advanced set yet, but after reading your review, I think I might give it a go 🙂

  22. Katie on May 15, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I definitely need to try these! I’m going to be travelling a lot for work soon and they seem like something I could do really easily while travelling just in my hotel room.

  23. Tia on May 15, 2012 at 10:30 am

    In certain photos you look so much like Katy Perry! Your daughter is SO adorable! Love your site, just floated over from pbfingers. 🙂

    • Fitnessista on May 15, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      thank you! nice to meet you, tia 🙂
      xoxo

  24. Julie @ Running and Riley on May 15, 2012 at 10:32 am

    I’ve never tried Turbo Fire before, but they seem like something I would like! I’ve been teetering between Insanity and Turbo Fire. I know you’re a big fan of both! 🙂

  25. Sarah @ Semi-Sweet on May 15, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Well, the TurboFire crew owes you a “thank you” – had my eye on the original set of DVDs as a way to spice up my at-home workouts and after reading this I pulled the trigger and ordered it. Can’t wait – thanks for highlighting these – it’s so helpful to read other’s reviews on these things – they are not cheap!

  26. Catalina @ Cake with Love on May 15, 2012 at 11:23 am

    I am a big fan of TurboFire dvds too, I don’t think I am ready for the advanced version, but would definetely consider it after I am done with my current dvds.

  27. Lisa on May 15, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    I love turbofire. I havent been brave enough to try the advanced ones yet! Ive been doing a variety of dvds; lately im liking the new tone it up girls dvd.

  28. Sarah on May 15, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Love the Turbo Fire DVDs. I actually bought them after you reviewed them on here. It pumps me up even though I’m doing them by myself. I used to really like the Tae Bo DVDs by Billy Blanks but thought the music could get a little cheesy.

  29. Amy on May 15, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    Hey Gina,

    Just wondering if you’ve ever tried the TTapp workouts? They seem to focus more on core strengthening.

    • Fitnessista on May 15, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      no i haven’t! what exactly are they? (i’m sure i could google but would love your perspective)

  30. corrie anne on May 15, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    I didn’t realize there was an advanced set! That’s awesome!!

  31. Kelly @ Turned UP to ELEVEN! on May 15, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    I love Turbo Fire I’m currently revisiting it and although I know most of the routines my body acts like it’s the first time. I like no matter how often you’ve done the workouts you can push harder. And I have to say I agree with 100% Fire 45 is my all time favorite!!! I don’t think it gets played through the rotation enough!

  32. Kimmoy on May 15, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    I’m really a fan of Zuzana as well, her ZWOWs are killers! I actually bought TurboFire a few months ago and tried it out, but didn’t really like it. Considering I’m a fan of Zumba, dancing, and kickboxing, I thought this was right up my alley…for whatever reason I just couldn’t get into it or the music. I liked the recipes in the 5 Day Inferno Plan though, so I’ll continue to experiment with the meal portion of the program. If anyone wants the DVDs, let me know!

    • lorie on May 15, 2012 at 10:06 pm

      I am interested in the dvds, if you don’t want them.

      • Kimmoy on May 16, 2012 at 7:57 am

        Hey Lorie,

        If you’re on Twitter, send me message/DM @Kimmoy

  33. Christena on May 15, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    Gina,
    I had back surgery last year and cannot do any high-impact exercises than involve jumping. I used to love Zumba, but even with the modified moves, the twisting/bending/jumping bothers my back. Do you have any recommendations on workout videos or programs for some one like me? Basically my surgeon just said nothing high-impact. I struggle to find something that’s not corny! I am so tired of walking!! I have some exercises that the PT gave me to strengthen my core, but would love it if I could find a more specific program to follow. I’m in a rut but would love to really get in shape.

    • Fitnessista on May 15, 2012 at 7:37 pm

      what about physique 57? it’s very low impact but it burns!!! not much twisting either- might be a good option if your back is healed. ask your doc!

  34. Jacki on May 16, 2012 at 11:44 am

    I’m definitely intrigued! I need to find some of these DVDs and incorporate into my workouts! I just started P90x this week and it’s brutal, but I love it!

  35. Alissa on May 31, 2012 at 11:35 am

    After reading your reviews/quick talks of TubroFire for years now I finally bought it. I just finished Day One about an hour ago and I am in LOVE! I am also so mad at myself for not getting these earlier. Thank you for all the reviews that you do. I just read the Insanity one and will past it on to my boyfriend, he is losing muscle too but he just finished week 4.

  36. Jessica on June 11, 2012 at 8:11 am

    I LOVE Turbo!! I started a month ago and i still do zumba, run and swim..as well as keep up with a 2 year old. By no means is this an easy program, but it is fun and it DOES produce awesome results. Chalene is an incredible instructor and I love the energy that lasts all day into my next workout!

  37. Lisa on January 24, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    where did you find the advanced dvd’s? I cannot find the 5 additional workouts that are needed to do the turbofire/chalean extreme hybrid!!!!

    • Fitnessista on January 25, 2013 at 12:33 am

      ordered through beach body!

  38. Shannon on February 6, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    Hi! I have Chalean Extreme and want to get the TurboFire. However, I don’t know which I should start with. What do you suggest? Turbofire or Turbofire Advanced? Is Turbofire a good enough work to start with or should I just GO BIG OR GO HOME? 🙂 Thanks!

  39. Shelley on March 14, 2013 at 11:38 am

    I love TurboFire and have been doing it for a couple of years on and off. My favorite was 45EZ because of all the energy the girl on stage next to Chalene has and the moves were fun. But then I got the advanced and love, love, love 60. Just when you think you can’t do another move the music changes and pumps you up again. I love it! The 2nd finale is so fun too!

  40. Tiffany on May 14, 2013 at 7:22 am

    Hi there,

    I actually commented one of your posts about 1 1/2yr ago when we were both pregnant! You were very inspiring! And since then we’ve both had our babies, well, not babies anymore as mine is now 14 months old!

    I have since slowly gotten myself back into shape and lost 30lbs. I came here again because I was looking up Turbo Fire and led me to you yet again! Loved the review but I wanted to ask about post Insanity. I also have completed Insanity (don’t ask me how, it was a miracle…but I got my shirt!) and I am in the middle of Round 2 of Insanity but to be honest, I’m getting bored of it and I’m still in Month 1! I think I want to try Turbo Fire but did you find it ‘easier’ than Insanity? Do you think I’ll still enjoy it? I really liked Insanity and the definition it gave me but I really want to lose my belly section…my legs, calves, arms and shoulders look great…but my belly is still wobbly, soft and I hate it…I am 14lbs away from goal and I just want something that’ll get me a flatter and firmer stomach…do you think Turbo Fire would help?

    Hope to hear from you! You look amazing!

    • Fitnessista on May 14, 2013 at 6:41 pm

      hey girl! congrats to you again on your little one 🙂
      i think turbo fire is harder than insanity in the sense that i burned a lot more calories. i think diet and planks help, too!
      xoxo

  41. Rebecca Roberts on July 16, 2013 at 2:04 am

    HEY!!! omg!! i’ve been looking EVERY WHERE for the advanced classes!! they dont sell those ones anymore and im SO sad!! im going to be starting month 3 very soon and i BADLY WANT those dvd’s!! is there any way you’d part with them??? 😀 for a price of course!! 😛 email me back if you’re interested in a trade maybe?

Leave a Comment





Pin It on Pinterest