Thinx review and are they worth it?

Finally writing a review on Thinx after using them for almost 3 years! Be forewarned that lots of period talk is ahead, so if my 3 male readers want to skip out on this one, no hard feelings. 😉 Heads up: this review is not sponsored and I wasn’t gifted products to write this post. I’ve purchased them myself over time and am happy to spread the word. If you’d like to try them out, you can use my referral link to get $10 off. 

Hi friends! Happy Tuesday! I hope you’re enjoying the week so far. It’s been a good one over here. Lots of Zoom calls, so I’m rocking the “business on top, pajamas pants on the bottom” kinda life.

For today, I wanted to chat a bit about girly things and share my unwavering love for the Thinx products. I was kind of hesitant to post a full review – it just felt so personal – but when has that ever held me back around here?? lol. So here we are and I’m going to share all of the details.

So I first started using Thinx in summer 2018. I wanted to try and find a new option since I no longer wanted to use the Diva Cup but was looking for something more environmentally-friendly. (Here’s the reason why! This post details everything I went through and why I’m apprehensive to use something that uses outer wall pressure and suction to hold itself in place.) I kept getting ad targeted for Thinx, so I bought a couple of pairs to see if I’d like them, and here I am, almost three years later and a huge fan.

Photo source

Thinx review and are they worth it?

How do Thinx work?

Thinx are super absorbent panties that you wear during your cycle. They claim to soak up as much as five tampons. I couldn’t believe this could be real, so I was anxious to test them out. The verdict: they work EXTREMELY well. They hold up over time, don’t leak (unless you have a super heavy flow, then I recommend backup), and they have a variety of styles. They have high-waist, cheeky, french cut, thongs, bikini, and hiphuggers in their classic material, sport (lightweight and breathable) and cotton.

I’ve only tried out a handful of styles, but my favorites are the hiphuggers for when things are real, the air sport and cheeky for lighter days.

They also have apparel now, which is awesome! I definitely want to dry out the pajama shorts.

Ok, so the question we’re all wondering: are Thinx gross? Does Thinx feel wet?

I was curious to see if I would feel gross wearing them knowing that they were absorbing everything. The fabric is extremely moisture-wicking, and on heaviest days, I’ll swap them out once during the day if I feel like I need to. Also worth mentioning here that I use a tampon for the first day or two, and purely Thinx for sleep and from then on. It makes me happy to know how much I’ve reduced waste by majorly cutting down on tampon usage.

How do you wash Thinx?

This is the other golden question: how do you wash them? My method is to put them on a rinse and spin cycle by themselves, do a full laundry cycle with other clothes, and then air dry. Every now and again I’ll add some vinegar to the wash cycle but don’t really feel like it needs it.

Can you wear Thinx while working out?

Since I’ve been working out 99% at home for the past year, I’ve worn them to work out with no probs. (I also wear gym shorts, a baggy tee, and socks that don’t match since no one can see me.) In the past, if I were taking an Orangetheory or barre class and wanted to wear leggings, I’d just use a tampon for the class (and prevent VPL because the lines from these things are serious. I would only do the thong with leggings.).

Cons of using Thinx:

– They’re on the pricey side but if you think about how much you spend on products each month, I think it’s absolutely worth it in the long term

– They feel thick. They’re definitely thicker than regular ol’ undies but you get used to it over time

– I mentioned this above but the visible panty line is serious. I can still get away with wearing these with jeans and certain dresses, but it’s a big NO for leggings (unless it was a lighter day and I used the thong option).

So, tell me friends: what do you use for your cycle? Tampons, pads, cup, other? Please share the love and why you love it in the comments section so we can get ideas from each other. Tampon brand wise, I really like LOLA and the ones from Target (I don’t know the brand but they’re organic and in a big plastic circular bin thing).

xo

Gina

More:

How to track your cycle and adjust workout intensity throughout the month

Why it’s important to check out tampon and pad ingredients

Post Navigation:

26 Comments

  1. Tiffany on April 27, 2021 at 7:21 am

    This review came at the perfect time. A few weeks ago we were getting water in our basement. We had a service guy come to clean out our sewer pipe and he removed “an excessive amount of female products.” Oops, lol! I definitely want to try these for nighttime. I love Honeypot brand for tampons and their herbal liners are amazing…they actually feel tingly which takes a few times to get use to but I swear they help ease my cramps.

  2. Katie on April 27, 2021 at 7:27 am

    Thank you for sharing this, Gina! I’ve been curious about these for a while and might actually give them a try now. Where was a product like this 15 years ago?? This is major TMI but whatever, when I was in college I had some unresolved issues that caused such a heavy flow that I would often bleed through the monster overnight pad and wake up to a crime scene. I was too ashamed to buy literal adult diapers so I just started poking leg holes in a grocery bag and wearing that over my underwear to sleep. Worked like a charm, but somehow I don’t think the investors on Shark Tank would have been real jazzed about that as a product concept.

  3. Mandy on April 27, 2021 at 9:01 am

    TMI: I’ve been using Thinx for about 18 months and I really like them. But I do find they get cold. Like when you potty and pull your undies back up…I think the wetness absorbs cold air. I find that really unpleasant and switch them out when this occurs. I love them for sleeping in. I cannot wear a thong, so I gave up on caring about VPL many years ago, so I do wear mine to the gym. I have never had any issues. But full disclosure…if gym day ever falls on day 2, I always skip it. That’s my day to chill each month. I get into the shower with my Thinx and really really rinse them…then I wash with as I normally would. It can be shocking to see what you rinse out. (insert scary face emoji here). I have not bought pads, tampons or liners since I started using Thinx, but I do have a few pair of differing absorbency to meet my needs.

  4. Christine on April 27, 2021 at 9:35 am

    I’ve only had 4 periods in the last 3 years (thanks to two pregnancies and over 2 straight years of breastfeeding) so I’ve gotten away with using mostly tampons. But prior to my first pregnancy I was a HUGE diva cup fan. I had way fewer leaks than I did with tampons. And I didn’t have to stress about changing it. I work 12 hour shifts on Labor and Delivery, which means a pretty unpredictable work day. I love not having to think about whether it’s time to change to change my tampon (or ruining a pair of scrubs). After my first baby, I wasn’t sure if I’d need to size up my diva cup but my old one worked just fine. Not sure what will happen after baby 2, but I plan to go back to using a menstrual cup.

  5. Erika on April 27, 2021 at 11:19 am

    Is your reluctance to use a menstrual cup something that a specialist warned you about with the prolapse or just your own level of caution? Asking because I am experiencing a stage 1 prolapse almost 9 years after having my totally normal-sized kid (UGH!!! WHAT?!). I have been using a menstrual cup for years…debating if I should re-think that now. I’m also trying ALL.THE.THINGS. to make sure the prolapse doesn’t get worse. I forgot you had experienced this, so thanks for the links to your previous posts and resources. Re: Thinx…I have a love/hate relationship with them. For me, the lace at the top of the undies completely tore away AND they completely lost their absorbency after a few months, despite following all the washing/drying instructions (we’re talking complete leak-through). Those two factors made me explore alternate options, including a different brand and reusable pads for back-up and lighter days.

    • Fitnessista on April 27, 2021 at 1:10 pm

      it’s from my own level of caution. i did some research after my surgery and came across stories from women who found that a cup made their prolapse worse, and since mine had finally healed, i was like NOPE NOPE. it just didn’t seem like a good idea to use something that was essential using a vacuum type suction to stay in place and pressure where i’d just had surgery. that’s such a bummer that your thinx stopped working and tore like that. did you reach out to customer service? i feel like they would replace them

      • Erika on April 27, 2021 at 3:43 pm

        Thanks for responding! Of course, I started reading up on menstrual cups and prolapse after you posted this, and I think I’m sadly going to give up my beloved cup just to err on the side of extreme caution (which blows, I have LOVED, LOVED my menstrual cup). Thinx did send me a replacement pair when I complained originally, but then I got lazy/didn’t want to complain more…typical. 🙂

  6. Jamie on April 27, 2021 at 11:44 am

    I LOVE Thinx. I initially used just for sleep (since who wants to wear a tampon to bed!?) but have started wearing them during my period days as well. I’ve worn them to work out it (hiphugger style) and they’re extremely comfortable. The panty lines don’t bother me – they never have with anything LOL. Although I agree it might be a lot to wear with leggings. They have sales all the time so this is a great time to stock up on them!

    • Fitnessista on April 27, 2021 at 1:11 pm

      yes i agree! if you can get them on sale or in a bundle, it’s worth it

  7. Anne on April 27, 2021 at 12:01 pm

    Hello, I have the same question as Erika. I’ve also had two vaginal births and they said a small degree of prolapse. But they were like I bet if you checked all your friends 80% of them would have the same thing! Maybe some people just can’t even tell. Anyway, about to have baby three. But I have been pleased with the diva cup. But I’m wondering if I shouldn’t use it? I read your other post link, but I don’t make the connection. I used Thinx in the past as well. I think I only have one pair because they were expensive but they seemed good. Maybe I should give them another try!

    • Fitnessista on April 27, 2021 at 1:12 pm

      yes that’s very true! i just didn’t feel comfortable using something with a vacuum type suction and wall pressure since mine had finally healed and i’d just had surgery. i read some stories online from women who said it made their prolapse worse, so i decided to try this instead.

  8. Jennifer Olszowy on April 28, 2021 at 6:44 am

    I have the sleep shorts and love them. My daughter is 11 and I m trying to find options to make her life easier…I have had a great experience with Thinx and have used them for about a year now! I recently bought a different brand and have not tried yet! I highly recommend the sleep shorts! I will buy my daughter those for summer camp just in case….

    • Fitnessista on April 28, 2021 at 11:06 am

      ok i’m getting them- thank you!
      yes, i love that these can help young girls to prevent awkward moments. i wish i would have had these in middle school!

  9. Liz on April 28, 2021 at 7:54 am

    Thank you so much for this honest review!! Do you find that the undies ride up at all? That is my number one pet peeve when wearing full-bottomed undies.

    • Fitnessista on April 28, 2021 at 11:05 am

      nope i don’t think they do at all!

  10. Hillary on April 28, 2021 at 12:52 pm

    Definitely going to try these!! Love that they are more sustainable than pads/tampons.

  11. Brittany Dixon on April 28, 2021 at 7:05 pm

    I’ve had these on my radar forever. Just purchased two pairs through your link! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Fitnessista on April 28, 2021 at 8:34 pm

      yay! i hope you love them – let me know what you think!

  12. Amanda on April 28, 2021 at 10:17 pm

    Wow this is timely. I just tried Thinx for the first time this week and I love them. I love not having to worry about leaks or having to throw out pads or tampons during the day.

    • Fitnessista on May 3, 2021 at 12:16 am

      same!! they make the whole experience way less of a hassle

  13. Leah on May 2, 2021 at 1:18 am

    Thanks for posting a review! These has been on my radar for my when daughter gets her period. Gosh I wish I had these options back then.

    • Fitnessista on May 3, 2021 at 12:16 am

      same! it would have saved me from so many embarrassing moments

  14. Court on May 2, 2021 at 10:30 pm

    I absolutely love love love Thinx!
    I will NEVER go back!!

    I do still wear them with leggings but I usually wear a button up shirt that has a longer back that covers my panty lines haha!

    They also make me feel like I’m doing my part in reducing the waste!

    • Fitnessista on May 3, 2021 at 12:14 am

      yessss they’re so amazing! i love the longer top idea 🙂

  15. Jill on May 5, 2021 at 2:20 pm

    For Canadian readers, Knix is a Canadian company with a similar product line and I love it!

    • Fitnessista on May 5, 2021 at 3:32 pm

      thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Comment





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.